Dream Kitchen

Contributor post by Opal from ApronStringsOwlLady

Dream Kitchen

I love this topic! I have many dream kitchen scenarios in my head and in the course of adulthood have had the pleasure of making some of those dreams reality. Right now my kitchen is a dreamy retro cafe with vintage radio and soda bottle collections, restaurant booths and even a Coca-Cola vending machine in the nearly dining room.

To many the words DREAM KITCHEN means with all the bells and whistles – new appliances, granite countertops, plenty of storage space. To others this could mean just the perfect combination of space, themed decor and a breakfast nook to enjoy their mornings. What kind of dream kitchen do you envision or have you seen/visited over the years? We’d love to see your accompanying items and hear your stories.

Pam Maggio from PamsPawsJewelry says

Well, I hate to cook, LOL! My idea of a Dream Kitchen or pretty one is a theme in pretty colors and of course a big enough one to eat in and decorate, LOL! So, for now how about a cheerful blue and white kitchen with an Asian theme and Oriental flare!

On shelves above you can have Asian style artsy items in blue and white, maybe a wall hanging embroidered with the gorgeous Japanese style gardens that I have seen! Doors leading outside to a small Japanese themed herb garden with little stone pagodas and such!

The table which is the center of most kitchens in many cultures can be set with bamboo place mats and a Chinese or Japanese fancy ginger jar or two, along with some bonsai trees and Oriental style flower arrangements! Then, set the table for tea with a pretty Asian teapot like mine I have posted below, matching tea cups, and have a relaxing time with friends having Asian cuisine and tea!

Domo arigatou gozaimasu! (Thank You very much, in Japanese!)

Asian Hexagonal Cobalt Blue and White Teapot Vintage Hand Painted Porcelain Floral Teapot with Solid Brass Handle Chinese Traditional Teapot

Asian Hexagonal Vintage Teapot

Leila Blakely from LasLovelies says

I almost had a dream kitchen. I loved my re-wired 20’s stove and oven on legs. I was able to feed my cats under there. Ha! Loved it. I even had the old-time refrigerator with the motor up on the top.
I decorated the tops of my cupboards with Hills Brothers Coffee Tins and every nook and cranny with Royal or Schilling Tins along with my red and white Hall Pottery collection. I added the red and white gingham curtains with white ruffles and black ribbon. Perfectly cute. Now I want to have a farmer sink and porcelain drain cupboards. I really don’t care if I have a dishwasher since the only thing that fits in them are plates which are the easiest items to wash. My coffee cups don’t even fit.

As I mentioned before my tastes are changing but I still like the black, white and red accents. This is a fabulous decorator piece. It would look good in a modern, farm-house chic or even a retro kitchen. I’m sure someone would love to decorate with this nostalgic, workable food scale. Whether it’s in a grouping with other items such as fruit, flowers or utensils it will be sure to capture one’s eye. It is beautiful, intricate and in fine vintage condition.

Columbia Family 24 pound Scale, 1930s Kitchen Decor Scale, Store or Shop Decor, Photo or Movie Prop, Farm House Chic

Vintage Retro Scale

After we made the last college tuition payment for our son, I was fortunate to be able to remodel our dated kitchen! We now have gorgeous cherry cabinets, quartz counters and, my favorite feature, a Grohe “touch less” faucet!
The contractor even honored my wish for a “curio” cabinet at one end of the island! It came out fantastic with wood shelving and glass doors. I enjoy displaying some of our Shop items inside. My daughter and I love finding retro (and kitschy) kitchen items, here is a cute trivet we found in Shipshewanna, Indiana.
Metal Trivet Kitschy Art "Pro-Tex" Retro Recipe "Table of Meat Cookery" 50s Kitchen "Midwestern Life Insurance" Advertising Decor Gift

Metal Trivet

Linda from LazyYVintage says

We are now just finishing a kitchen remodel. It is kind of a farmhouse style with white brick walls and hickory cabinets. Just some trimming out and hanging my wall decorations back up and Jim is done.

But I love to cook and bake. So my favorite part of the new kitchen is a yellow painted peg board to hang up my cooking tools. Wire whisks, spatulas, ice cream scoops, tongs, etc. Julia Childs always have a peg board that her husband would put up where ever they lived in the world. I couldn’t wait for that piece to be done in my new yellow, green, and pine cone brown kitchen.

And, these are my new old everyday dishes. It was a big set of a service of 16, so some have made there way into the shop.

Vintage cotillion cups and saucers set of four

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says

Love these cheerful items above! Really my dream kitchen is one that’s inviting and accommodates a lot of people. My kitchen right now is warm and inviting and our family loves it. The one thing that drives me crazy though is that our kitchen sink is right next to the back door, which is the door that everyone uses. So my dirty dishes are the first thing that people see!! When I win the lottery I’m definitely remodeling that!! Still, it seems the kitchen is the happiest place in our home!
Black White home decor, Printable quote art, sing in Shower dance in Kitchen, Kitchen for dancing

Printable Sign

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns says

Aahh – a dream kitchen! For me kitchens are about creating food – and food is about sharing with family and friends! These intimate dishes epitomize sharing – salt, pepper, dukkah, even candles! Enjoy
Salt and Pepper Cellars Rectangle Dishes Handmade Pottery Ceramic Tableware Rustic Condiments Green Mauve - Set of Two

Salt & Pepper Cellars

Carrie from TheMarchingBee says

My dream kitchen would be centered around drinks and fun. I would have a very nice hot drinks bar where I can make all sorts of versions of coffee and tea. I would have an espresso machine, french press, electric kettle, and of course a way to brew a big pot of coffee. I want a wide selection of teas, from simple black teas to herbal remedies. Although I’m not a big alcohol drinker, I still would love to have a small alcohol bar as well. I want wines for special occasions and a couple of nice bottles of whiskey for my husband to have a glass now and then. My center bar would also have comfortable bar chairs for sitting to play board and card games with guests. The decor would reflect my family’s nerd love, fun and playful. My kitchen is very large, and I’m happy to say that we are well on our way to making this dream happen!
Travel Coffee Mug Cozy Crochet Sleeve With Hand Warming Pocket | Coffee Lover Gift | Eco Friendly Gift Ideas | Pocket Mug Cozy | Starbucks

Travel Coffee Mug Cozy

Richard and Tatiana from DesignstheLimit says

We offer a variety of gifts for kitchen and entertaining, but nothing is more of a dream for preparing and serving than our personalized bruschetta set. We personalize one side of the board and you can turn it over to reveal a bread knife and bread board perfect for preparing bruschetta. Set even includes three ceramic dishes for self-serve appetizers in style!

@DesignstheLimit we offer a wide variety of quality products as a canvas for our artistic personalization. We also offer an ever-expanding number of professional services including gift cards, engraved gift messaging on the underside of the board, and everything you need from graphic design to gift wrap to bring your ideas to your doorstep!

Personalized Bruschetta Bread Board Set including Ceramic Bowls and Bread Knife Engraved with Family Monogram Design Options

Bruschetta Bread Board

Opal from ApronStringsOwlLady

I love all your dream kitchen ideas and your items.I would like to visit your dream kitchens, have a bite to eat, something nice to drink and warm company ,thanks everyone! It’ll be in the blog form soon.

I think if I had an extra kitchen (because I love my chickens and roosters in the main cooking part of the present one) I think I would decorate with owls, this black and white one would be useful.. the counter-tops could be black marble and the back splashes white marble.

Owl Paper Towel Holder, Wooden Owl Kitchen Decor, Owl Kitchen, Owl Gifts, Owl Decorations, Custom Owl Gifts, Cute Owl, Hand painted Owl

Wooden Owl Paper Towel Holder

2 thoughts on “Dream Kitchen

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.