Sharing Santa Traditions

Contributor post by Alexandra from EyeLoveKnots
 
Santa Claus… Saint Nicholas… Sinter Klaas… Pere Noel… Father Christmas… Because Santa is viewed so differently in different countries and cultures, I turned to my Christmas in July Team Members to learn more about their Santa and Holiday Traditions.

Personally, I make a point every year to visit with Santa and get my picture taken. When I think of Christmas, that is definitely one of the things I get really excited about! And though I have a grown up Christmas list, I always ask for the same thing – Peace and Happiness. I chose to feature the Santa suit in my Santa Bauble Ornaments (shown above) because it was the first thing that came to mind when I thought of my visit with him. How soft the red velvety suit is, with the fun, fluffy white trim. I had a lot of fun working up these bauble ornaments for gifting and have since made a few for my own tree.

Let’s see what other Christmas in July Members are sharing with us about their Santa and Holiday Traditions!

Megha of byTheArtBug shared this Felt Santa Figurine and Tree Sculpture. She says, “I remember how we used to wait for Santa during Christmas. In our home town Santa used to come with the Carolers and bring gifts and chocolates for kids! Everyone loves Santa and so I made this cute felt Santa to add a special touch to anyone’s Holiday Decor!”

Ina of InaSudjana shared these Set of 5 White Christmas Wool Finger Puppets. She says, “Here’s my Santa in finger puppet form. I came up with this idea last year, and am loving the snowy chill feeling as it is a very hot Christmas here in Australia.”

Patricia of TheOldBarnDoor shared this Jolly Victorian Santa Claus Christmas Pillow. She says, “This image never fails to make me smile – it is taken from one of my antique postcards. It conjures up all those feelings of anticipation I had as a young child.”

NauticoCreations shared these Hand Painted Santa Ornaments. They say, “One of our traditions is to give homemade gifts. These Santa cinnamon sticks are something that can be made and treasured for years to come. If you don’t like making things or don’t have time, these can be purchased to give you the handmade feel in YOUR home.”

Nan of ShabbyShopGirls shared this Vintage Corn Husk Santa Claus. She says, “This unusual Christmas Santa is made from actual corn husks by Nan Anderson. One of many collectible Santa’s from her Christmas santa series of corn husk dolls. We like this one in particular, as he resembles different Santa’s from Germany and Europe with his Christmas tree and bag full of toys. A lovely addition to any collection of primitive Santa’s!”

Do you have a special holiday item that represents your Santa or Holiday Tradition? Maybe you make a special type of Christmas Cookie for Santa, or leave out a treat for the Reindeer. I would love to hear about it! Share your story below.

3 thoughts on “Sharing Santa Traditions

  1. The “thing” that I guess I have been getting known for at Christmas time…is my cooking. Especially the homemade Cream Horns. No one can ever figure how I made them! When they find that they are made by wrapping around a wooden dowel covered with tin foil…they are just amazed! I love to cook – and this year it has been curbed way back with my first year with my new Etsy Shop.

    Like

    • Congrats on your new shop, Debbie! Cream Horns sound delicious! And fun to make. Thanks so much for sharing, and a very Merry Christmas to you!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Ho! Ho! Ho! Sharing Santa Stories and Traditions

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.