#CIJArtGallery – GraciousArt

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

Virtual Art Gallery – Pamela from GraciousArt

1. What is your work of art?

The title is Launiupoko, named after the beach park on Maui which is depicted.

It’s 12x16x3/4″, oil paint over mixed media surface (texture) on canvas.

I’m inspired by the beautiful universe we are blessed to live in, by found textural materials and by the colors in my paint box. I’m kind of inspired by everything!

GraciousArt

GraciousArt

2. Please share your inspiration for this piece.

When I first started this piece, I had no particular plan as to what the image or colors would be. I just decided to try texturing a canvas with an all over pattern using a very coarse sand, a very long and boring (or meditative!) process. I stained the entire thing with magenta oil paint. After completing this and some other textured panels, I found myself at this beach park in Lahaina. It was very atmospheric that morning and I knew just which canvas to begin. The formative part of the imagery was painted en plein air that day. It was completed in the studio later.

3. What keywords describe your work? 

texture painting, oil painting, original art, tropical landscape, impressionism, unusual technique, mixed media art, tropical art, original painting, OOAK,

4. Is this your favorite medium? Do you work in other mediums?

My favorite medium is whatever sparks my interest at the time. The texture series, Maui Dreamscapes, combines two of my uber favorites, found object/mixed media and oil paint. Keeping all the texture and random items separated by layers of artists’ gesso allows me to use mixed media and oil paint together without sacrificing an archival product. The paintings are museum quality in that respect.

5. What fascinates you?

The natural world fascinates me. I like to dwell on our place in it and watch life unfolding. I’m lucky enough to live on Maui, so the beauty of nature is always in my face. It never gets old. Even mixing the paint, unexpected things happen. When I’m gathering textural materials, it’s like a treasure hunt. People also fascinate me. Connecting with them through my art continues to be an amazing journey.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.