Treasury Challenge Winner December – artpixie

Contributor post by Alicia of AliciasFindings

On Etsy many shop owners curate treasuries. A treasury is a curated shop gallery comprised  of 16 items from any shop.  Most of the time they are done by theme, color or anything you can imagine.

The Christmas in July team has challenges to create treasuries centered on themes of our choosing. We then pick a winner based on views, creativity and the like.

The December winner is artpixie who loves sewing, upcycling, fabric art and any kind of fine art.

1. How did your shop come to be?

My shop was a natural outgrowth of my creativity. I was always designing and making crafts and people started asking me to make things for them and my house started to overflow with decor, so I decided to sell some of my items. They did well okay so I added more – especially the stockings. More recently, I have been trying to market more as I have been using some of the proceeds to fund my Special Education Classroom.

il_170x135.433842718_rr8c

2. What is it about that drawing/doodling that motivates/inspires you?

Drawing and doodling motivate me by activating my creativity and recharging my internal batteries. There is nothing more relaxing than seeing a simple line transformed into something else in very short time. In the past few years I took up painting and it’s even better to see a pencil sketch recreated in a painted medium.

il_170x135.595677777_mszt

3. Are you into implementing trends in your shop? If so which ones, this season?

For the holiday decor, I do watch the trends because I find them interesting and my college marketing class suggested I should. The biggest benefit for me is in being able to find fabric styles that match my designs. This season, I am planning to work in brighter colors, plaids and using the trend color Marsala. For my paintings, I don’t. I paint what I feel and what I dream, which makes it a great outlet!

il_170x135.584407143_o7t3

4. What are your plans for the next few holidays, for instance Valentine’s Day?

For the next few holidays I hope to increase the crafts and decor available for holidays other than Christmas, which is really well represented in my shop.

il_170x135.365948933_2jco

5. What are your social media sites?

This for me is a side business. I’m happy being a teacher full time, but that leaves me with less time for marketing, so right now I have Etsy: artpixie, Facebook: www.facebook.com/ArtpixieArt and Twitter: @AmyArtpixie
I have prints of my other art available at artpixie.imagekind.com.
I also participate in Sketchfest every month and that has become a place where I send people who want to see my drawing and painting style. www.ellenmilliongraphics.com/sketchfest/sketchfestartist.php?id=2019
My goals for this year are to master Twitter, get a blog started, and learn how to use oil paints.

I invite you all to check out the shop an immerse yourself in these wonderful artworks!

One thought on “Treasury Challenge Winner December – artpixie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.