Member Feature: MukiCrafts

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Marie of MukiCrafts, our featured member!

MukiCrafts

MukiCrafts

Tell us about yourself.

I’m Marie and with the help of my two little girls, we run a knit and crochet pattern shop here on Etsy.

Thanks to my mother who is an artist, I’ve been crafty all my life but my passion and inspiration has always been yarn. I learned to knit and crochet about 4 years old when my grandmother left me a big basket full of ugly colored soviet yarns. With no Barbie clothes available, I learned to crochet in the round to make them skirts and tops. This is how it all started.

Somehow I didn’t become a fashion designer as I always dreamed, my drawing skills aren’t that great, and ended up working in a bank dealing with large corporations. As we have long maternity leave here in Estonia (up to 3 years), I discovered a way to unite my passion for knitting and crochet and designing.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my shop in 2014 when my daughter who models almost all my items was about 9 months old. I started with knitting patterns and a year later added crochet. Etsy is a good way to sell internationally and when people like and buy what you make – it is so rewarding.

Tell us a bit about your products.

I offer simple and cute knitting and crochet patterns, mostly in kids sizes. My patterns are suitable for beginners who have some experience and know the basic stitches. I tend to write my patterns out more and therefore they are easy to follow, most contain photos of key points of the progress.

What inspires your work

My inspiration comes from the yarn (I never order online, have to touch and feel) and my girls. I have a lot of woodland theme garments for the little ones. The inspiration for that comes from the bedtime stories, nature and from all the fun we do together.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

I’m hoping to reach 15 000 sales this year. I’m doing a lot of fun collabs with yarn companies and hope to share them soon. I’m at the point where I should decide if I’ll keep doing my Etsy shop and quit my bank job or go back to the corporate world.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

My designs are suitable for not that experienced crafter, you can create something adorable using just basic stitches and good natural yarn in a beautiful shade – no complicated stitch pattern or tricks needed. My patterns stand out thanks to my fantastic daughter who loves to model the garments mommy makes.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I do not have a studio, my work space is my couch and I’ve covered all the house with my yarn! I hope that someday I’ll have a studio big enough to take photos and keep all my yarns (I should open a yarn shop instead.. with a big back room where to take photos)!

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

It’s not about quantity but the quality. To get a shop going you have to have more items but it is the quality of the pattern that keeps people coming back to buy more.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

If you’re already thinking – just do it! You do not have anything to loose and the worldwide market is yours.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I do a lot of sports, at least 5 times a week. I love tennis which I discovered last year, this year I’m already going to tennis camp in Southern-Europe. I’ve been going to photo school and just bought a new camera so this is one thing that I want to dedicate more and more of my time.

What is your favorite quote?

No pain no gain.

Where can people find out more about your business?

Visit my Etsy shop or find Muki Crafts on Facebook. I also gave a deeper interview to Etsy last year: Visit my Etsy shop or find Muki Crafts on Facebook. I also gave a deeper interview to Etsy last year: MukiCrafts.

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

