Beach Time

Contributor Post by Sheila and Shannon of BeadyEyedBird 

For some of us, August may be our last chance to hit the beach for the summer. What do you love most about the beach, and which/where is your favorite? We asked our teamies what they bring (or sell) related to BEACH TIME (!) and here’s what they said!

This photograph was captured on the Oregon Coast (I offer a printed and printable version). My children and their cousins were having a little beach therapy: sinking their feet in the sand. The wild natural beaches of the Pacific North West are my favorite. The chilly waters of the ocean along the Oregon coast can be too much for some, but with temperatures reaching 107°F (42°C) in much of the state for the first week of August, the Oregon beaches are the place to be.

sand

Beach House Print, Black White Children’s Room Wall Art, Play in sand nursery decor, ocean nature print, nautical kid’s art 5×7 8×10 11×14

At Design’s the Limit we have an entire section of our shop dedicated to Destination Themed Picture Frames including a number of Tropical, Carribean, & Beach Themed Destinations! We encourage beach goers and vacationers to take a picture and share your experiences with the world! Inspire others with your custom picture frame and the memories of the moments they contain @DesignstheLimit.

vacation

Vacation to Remember Picture Frame with Font Selection (Select Size and Frame Orientation)

Diana from joliefemmebydiana said:

Watching the water from the beach is a peaceful pastime! Nothing soothes like the sights and sounds of waves and blue water. Any coastal drive or town is a fun visit to the lovely ocean! Here is a sailboat scene on my little mini pocket. Perfect for a any sailing enthusiast.

boat

Sail Boats on the Water Credit Business or Frequent Shopper Card Holder Case

I can’t think of the beach without the sight and sound of waves breaking on the shore. If you explore beneath the waves, you might be surprised at the variety of sea creatures that inhabit the reefs. Our “Reef Buddies” quilt features pieced wave blocks along with colorful creatures from the shallow seas. Use this pattern to make a keepsake of your perfect beach vacation!

ocean

Ocean animal applique PDF baby quilt pattern; paper pieced wave block; fish or shark quilt pattern; child’s quilt pattern; reef buddies

Sarah Johnson from BellaBoutique23 said:

My family started an annual beach trip and we went to the Oregon Coast this year. It was really cold there but I loved watching my nieces and nephews play, a couple of them had their first time seeing the ocean! I have this adorable beach theme scrapbook in my shop perfect for those cute photos of kiddos playing on the beach.

Beach Theme Scrapbook Album

Beach Theme Scrapbook Album

Connie Lee from Bungalow42 said:

One glance at my shop will tell you that I am fond of the beach. I grew up near the Texas coast and spent many happy childhood days on the beach with my family. As I grew my love of the beach flourished. I learned to surf in high school though anyone familiar with the Texas coast knows that the waves are usually kinda lame short of an approaching hurricane. Storms aside catching a modest wave on my giant surf board (dating myself here) was always a thrill.

It is this love of the beach that inspires many of my designs but none more perhaps than my shell earrings. Each shell is spaced expressly to mirror the opposite earring. Given the unique nature of shells no two earrings are identical which is part of their charm. The shells sway gracefully on waxed linen thread and make a lovely sound that is so faint only the wearer will hear its whisper.

Get your beach on!

ear

Tiger Nassa and Mixed Shell Earrings

Sherri from ButterflyFeetDigital said:

My favorite place to visit the ocean beaches is New Zealand. Not so much for white sand, but I love rocky coastlines, and NZ has lots and lots of that. I find beaches especially interesting when there are seashells to find and rocks to explore.

This stationery / printable journal set is from a variety of beaches – New Zealand and California, but I’m not sure to be honest where they all were. I sell scrapbooking items but I am pretty poor at actually finishing scrapbooking, and have lots of unlabeled travel photos in drawers and on the computer. I hate that I am so disorganized!

Beach Printable Art Journal Pages

Beach Printable Art Journal Pages

 

I was half brought up on the beach with spending all holidays at the family beach house! At this time it was a sleepy seaside town, now it is a commercial metropolis with corporate surf shops and fashion labels – needless to say I don’t go there anymore!

But I do still love the beach in summer. These beach themed charms are ideal for adding summer accents to your jewellery, bunting, handbags, and home decor.

sea

Gold Plastic Pendants Charms – Seahorse or Shell – 40mm – jewellery making, sewing, Crafts, Gift Wrapping & Costumes by DeeDeeSupplies

 

I was raised surf fishing and enjoying the beach, fishing, relaxing, and camping as a child, here in Florida.

Many of my pieces are beachy, but not typical in my opinion.
I prefer the early morning and the eveing and the night, which is reflected in my artwork and functional art pieces. I hope you enjoy this entry.

napkin

Navy Peony, Beach house decor, set of 2, ocean cloth napkins, heavy, quality navy linens, hand painted original design, gift

Linda from LazyYVintage said:

This my absolute favorite item in our shop, and going to the beach is the most magical of all vacations. We really like Destin, FL and the Gulf of Mexico. I bring my beach chair, a good book, and an umbrella. I can spend all day there, watching the waves and just be still. There is a spirituality about it and peace just flows through you.

gull

Vintage Beach Art Ink Drawing, Honey I’m Home! Black and White Sea Gulls Building a Nest Ocean Beach House Home Decor Decor Birds Nests

JO from alustrousjewellery said:

The thing I love most about the beach is collecting sea shells. We have a lot of good beaches near by. I have a few beach inspired items, this is one of my favourites as I love seahorses.

seahorse

Seahorse, Seahorse Necklace, Sterling Silver Seahorse Necklace, Beach Necklace, Ocean Necklace, Sea Necklace, Marine Necklace, Fish Necklace

I am spending much of the summer on Cape Code shell collecting! Here’s a brass shell favorite from my own collection!

shell

Brass Sea Shell Wall Hanging Polished Solid Brass Nautical Wall Decor Sturdy Hook For Hanging Beach House Decor Gift Summer House Gift

Linda Britt from BrittDesign said:

I live in the desert and going to the beach usually means a trip to San Diego. I love walking the beach and finding artifacts. That gave me the idea for the polymer and angel skin coral necklace.

beach

Bohemian Necklace – Ivory Pendant – Angel Skin Coral Chain – Polymer Pendant

Cindy Humphrey from Cynhumphrey said:

Who doesn’t like to see dolphins when they’re at the beach? Beach and dolphins go hand in hand for me! But since you can’t go to the beach every day to see these amazing creatures, this wine bottle stopper can bring back the happy memories of when you did!

stopper

Dolphin Charm Interchangeable Beaded Wine Bottle Stopper / Decorative Wine Bottle Stopper Accessory

I remember our trips to Myrtle Beach and Tybee Island with our children when they were small. It was the best time ever just to see their little faces light up at the sight of all that water!! We always came back home with tons of beautiful sea shells with plans to create something special to remember our trip.
Although, I never liked the salty water on my skin I did however, love walking through the cool sand as the sun would set and at early morning sunrise!!

bandana

Sea Shells On the Beach Dog Bandana, Gifts for Dogs, Dog Bandana with Shells, Gifts for Dog Lovers

Emily Tan from QuirkyEleganceEm said:

My favourite beach as a child was Air Papan Beach in Mersing, Malaysia. My family used to go there very often, and I remember making many various sand cakes (they don’t really count as castles) with the very white and very clean sand. The sand would squeak if you rubbed your feet in it the right way, which was a constant source of amusement for me as a young child.

I love collecting seashells on the beach! There are always so many different shapes and types of shells. This is a special piece of jewellery I made with a collected seashell and bead embroidery.

ring

Bead embroidery white seashell ring: Statement ring, bead embroidered ring, seashell ring, adjustable ring, nautical jewelry, mermaid gifts

Susan Fowler from SSFDesigns said:

Nothing like the beach on a hot day! I love to read a book relax and watch the water and waves. My favorite times are when my children were small nothing like the joy on there faces as they played in the sand and water. Of course I loved having a cool swimsuit to wear too!

1950’s Style Swimsuit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks to everyone who participated – fun items!

Until Next Time,

Sheila

 

One thought on “Beach Time

Leave a Reply

