Summer Hobbies

Contributor post by Alicia from AliciasFindings

Most of us have at least one hobby that we do in our down times. A hobby could be reading, crafting, biking and so much more.

What summer hobbies do you participate in? Are these solitary ventures or group events? What is it about them that you love? Tell us anything else you want to tell us about it.

Susan from SSFDesigns says my husband and I love to go bird watching ! We go for long walks with our binoculars and bird books in hand . We have started a life list and so far we have 115 birds on that list! Not only is it a wonderful way to spend time together get some exercise it also inspires me to crate seeing all the beautiful colors!

il_fullxfull.1254471042_76j2

Women’s floral maxie dress

Linda from LazyYVintage said I usually tackle do it yourself projects. This year, I sanded and repainted a round picnic table and its four benches. I wish I could post some pictures of it! I picked it up for $20 at a garage sale. It is a VandyCraft made by Edward Vandy from Oak Park, IL. He had a shop at the Merchandise Mart in Chicago from 1956 to 1979. I didn’t know that until I started the sanding.

Next, 1950s aluminum couch glider and chair for the backyard…..should be interesting.

il_fullxfull.1196131138_si6n

Rattan vintage picnic basket

Cristal from DesignsbyCristal states that every summer my family and I try to find a different local farm to buy our summer fruits and veggies from. I have so many allergies and dietary issues that buying fresh and making the meal myself is the best but sometimes the stores don’t carry a decent selection of the types I want.

We love to see how the farmer marries different veggies to create somethings brand new and these are the ones I gravitate towards the most. I love coming home to unload my colorful finds and getting together with my daughter to decide what our next master piece will be. We recently made a sweet potato pie from purple yams (yummy)!

il_fullxfull.1231423996_svmo

Watermelon dog bandanna

 

Leave a Reply

