#CIJPopUpMarket #4 2017 – kensingtonminiatures

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

#CIJPopUpMarket #4 Shop – Gail from kensingtonminiatures

kensingtonminiatures

1. What is the name of your shop and where do you look for inspiration?

My shop is Kensington Miniatures. I look to real-life in order to create my miniatures… Often I will take photos of things that catch my eye, and I keep a notebook filled with ideas for scenes and items. As a collector since childhood, I have always been fascinated with tiny creations that mirror full-size things.

2. How has your shop evolved over time?

It was my daughter who encouraged me to sell my creations. One Mother’s Day her surprise for me was to set up a shop on Etsy so that I would have a start in business. I added my profile, philosophy, and photos to begin. At first I only listed a few items, but as I continued to gain confidence, I added more miniatures and branched out with more variety of product choices.

3. What do you love most about your work?

I love creating miniatures; it is a passion, not a job for me. It has also offered me an outlet when life hands me challenges. I am happiest listening to show tunes and popular music. Often I will pop in a favorite movie while I am working.

4. What motivating music do you listen to? Share your playlist that gets and keeps you going!        

I listen to show tunes and popular music of the 60’s and 70’s. I don’t currently have a specific playlist. The Beatles, the Beach Boys, Carly Simon get me motivated.

5. What book are you reading right now and where is your favorite place to read?

I have many interests-reading being one of them. I read many genres. I just finished a James Patterson novel, but I also love biographies, family histories, and how-to books. Reading in bed is a must before falling off to sleep every night.

6. What are your social media sites?

I am currently on Instagram and love seeing new followers every day, as well as seeing other artists’ work. I find it all so varied and inspirational, and get to make new friends too!

Instagram: kensingtonminiatures

Leave a Reply

