#CIJPopUpMarket #3 2017 – Gillisflowers

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

#CIJPopUpMarket #3 Shop – Gillian from Gillisflowers

Gillisflowers

1. What is the name of your shop and where do you look for inspiration?

My shop is Gillisflowers, it’s a kind of pun. My friends call me Gilli. I make origami flower jewellery and “Gillyflower” is a traditional name for dianthus or pinks so it all worked together. I make reference to the language of flowers in my jewellery and in that gillyflower has the meaning everlasting beauty which seems appropriate.

I look for inspiration in so many places, antique and vintage floral jewellery, historical dramas, fashion trends and of course from flowers and the wonderful colour combinations seen in nature.

2. How has your shop evolved over time?

Although I opened my shop in the later part of 2016 it was 2017 when I really started to work more seriously on it and I am now gradually reviewing and improving my listings as I learn more about selling on Etsy. I have updated the sections telling sellers more about me and worked to improve my photos, descriptions, titles and tags. I now have 114 items including designs which can be made to order. I am learning everyday and my shop will continue to evolve, grow.

3. What do you love most about your work?

My work is in many ways my therapy. I started origami after bring advised by occupational therapy to find a way to exercise my fingers. I have become disabled over the past 4 years but when I am in the “zone”, or when selling my jewellery at a craft market I can forget about the things I can’t do or find challenging and rejoice in what I can do. It provides creative stimulation and I love developing a new design or technique…I get a real buzz from that. It keeps my brain busy as I learn more and work out ways to make what I want to make. I love the sense of achievement when I look at something I have made. It is my passion and my joy. I love it!

4. What motivating music do you listen to? Share your playlist that gets and keeps you going!        

I can’t listen to music when working. When I listen to music I get so caught up in it I can’t do anything else.

5. What book are you reading right now and where is your favorite place to read?

I love reading and always have books to read loaded on my kindle. I have just finished ” The keeper of lost things” which I loved and recommend and for a complete change I’m now reading an Ann Cleeves detective novel. I have problems sleeping so I also enjoy audio books and I am know listening to one of my favourites, Pride and Prejudice. I read most in my very comfy recliner chair but also when weather permits in my garden.

6. What are your social media sites?

Facebook: Gillisflowers

Instagram: gillisflowers

Pinterest: Gillisflowers

Twitter: Gillisflowers

Leave a Reply

