#CIJPopUpMarket #2 2017 – USA Focus: MariMartiDesigns

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

#CIJPopUpMarket #2 Shop – Marijean from MariMartiDesigns

MariMartiDesigns

1. What is the name of your shop and where do you look for inspiration?

The name of my shop is Mari Marti Designs.

My inspiration comes from my family, my journey into motherhood, my Texas roots, the beautiful Florida Coast, and most deeply my faith. I create joyfully from a grateful heart and my sincere hope is that I can make something for you that will bring a smile to your days.

2. How has your shop evolved over time?

When I began this crazy project that is opening an Etsy shop a little less than a year ago, it was primarily a way to decompress and use my hobbies to try and get in touch with who I am after many hectic life changes. My product offering was very wide and focused not on what inspired me, and held meaning to me, but on what I could make. There was not much of an emotional tie to my product line. After much encouragement from my husband I decided to be more vulnerable to the Etsy world and begin sharing products that reflect what matters to me, Faith, Family, and Love all wrapped up in Rustic Romance and Boho-Chic materials. I began using more earthy and grounded elements and have been tirelessly seeking out beautiful and unique artisan pendants and richly colored beads that resonate with my heart and soul. So, in short, my shop has become more personal and this has allowed my creativity to flow much more freely and instead of making pretty things that I like, I now spend more time designing and sharing beautiful things that carry deep meaning to me. I hope they will resonate with you as well!

3. What do you love most about your work?

I love that it is a small way to express my story and help others to express theirs. Jewelry is very, VERY personal and everyone has a unique sense of style. I love being able to incorporate not only color and texture, but also meaning into the pieces I design. I also love that my daughter gets to see me designing and playing just as I watched my mother design and play growing up. I love to see her get inspired to tinker and be creative and spend her energy on little projects that are meaningful to her.

4. What motivating music do you listen to? Share your playlist that gets and keeps you going!        

Wow! You, know it really just depends on my mood. My favorite playlist of all time though is a Spotify list my husband started for me back when we first started dating (yes–just like a modern-day mix tape)! It puts me in a happy, dance-y, creative mood! I also will listen to worship music if I’m in a more solemn, contemplative mood.

5. What book are you reading right now and where is your favorite place to read?

I’m always reading SEVERAL books at once… but most current are: “Siblings Without Rivalry”, “Eat Fat, Get Thin”, and “Brain Rules”. I like to read everywhere I can!

6. What are your social media sites?

Facebook: Mari Marti Designs

Pinterest: Mari Marti Designs

Twitter: MariMartiDesigns

Leave a Reply

