#CIJPopUpMarket #2 2017 – USA Focus: Bungalow42

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

#CIJPopUpMarket #2 Shop – Connie Lee from Bungalow42

Bungalow42

1. What is the name of your shop and where do you look for inspiration?

The name of my shop is Bungalow42. I believe that inspiration can come from almost anywhere. For example I find myself inspired by the flowers, birds and butterflies that surround our home this spring. I also find inspiration from other diverse sources like music, art, photography, fashion and dream fragments. That said, people have always been a source of inspiration and endless fascination in my work and in my life. My hometown Austin, Texas whose motto is “Keep Austin Weird”, is truly a treasure trove of talented, creative, fun and weird (in a good way) people.

2. How has your shop evolved over time?

The most obvious evolution would have to be the expansion of my inventory. Bungalow42 will have over 200 listings before the end of 2017. Perhaps not as obvious is the evolution of my photography skills. I have subsequently replaced all of my original listing photos so it isn’t really obvious to anyone but me how much they have improved in the last three years. This year I added professional model photos that provide a sense of scale and proportion that is difficult to convey in studio “product only” photos.

3. What do you love most about your work?

The continued joy of creating. I get just as excited today seeing a new design come to fruition as I did after completing my very first piece. My approach to design is more akin to doodles in a journal that somehow miraculously end up as an actual piece of jewelry.

4. What motivating music do you listen to? Share your playlist that gets and keeps you going!        

My playlist generally consists of random play in iTunes from our digital library of over 29K songs. My husband and I think of it as our own personal radio station. Our taste in music is diverse and can range from rhythm and blues, to jazz, rock and roll, reggae and singer/songwriters. As I’m writing this piece my studio has been filled with the sounds of Tom Waits, Teresa James, Irma Thomas and The White Stripes.

5. What book are you reading right now and where is your favorite place to read?

At the moment I am between books. I just finished a science fiction book entitled Red Rising by Pierce Brown. More often than not my reading preference tends toward detective/crime novels. I am pretty sure that I inherited my love of reading and this genre in particular from my grandmother. She would go to the library every week and check out several books, mostly detective/crime novels and proceed to consume them voraciously.

Like my grandmother I can and do read almost anywhere. If I can scratch out some reading time I will take it wherever and whenever it comes…

6. What are your social media sites?

Facebook: Bungalow42

Pinterest: Bungalow42

Twitter: Bungalow42

Website: Bungalow42

Leave a Reply

