Etsy Christmas In July Leader – DeeDeeDeesigns

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Christmas In July Leader – Dawn from DeeDeeDeesigns

DeeDeeDeesigns

1. What is the name of your shop and where do you look for inspiration?

My shop is DeeDeeDeesigns. I create handmade ceramic home decor and jewellery, and also jewellery made using recycled items such as guitar strings, fabric, marbles and plastics.

My inspiration is largely drawn from the environment – reflected in the glazes and forms of my ceramics – and seen in the ideology of using recycled items in my jewellery practice.

2. How has your shop evolved over time?

When my shop initially opened I only old ceramic home wares. Due to an accident in 2011 where I severed a finger I began making jewellery. I could not make the larger products I was used to making on the potters wheel, so jewellery was a great way to keep creating, and at the same time opened a new world of creativity within my art practice.

3. What do you love most about your work?

I love that I can work from home and keep my own hours. I am a night owl, so being a full time self employed artist suits me down to the round.

4. What motivating music do you listen to? Share your playlist that gets and keeps you going!        

Well, in my studio I can only receive one radio station, and that is the ABC which also incorporates the BBC – so I am a wealth of information!! But I do love listening to news and current affairs so it doesn’t bother me!

5. What book are you reading right now and where is your favorite place to read?

Currently I am reading Thomas Harding ‘Far from the Madding Crowd’ Where I like to read depends on the season. At the moment in Australia it is Winter so I love reading in bed with my electric blanket on (when I have the time)!

6. What are your social media sites?

Instagram: Dawn Whitehand

Facebook: DeeDeeDeesignsAustralia

Google Plus: +Dawn Whitehand

Pinterest: Dawn Whitehand

Polyvore: Dawn Whitehand

Twitter: DeeDeeDeesigns

WaNeLo: Dawn Whitehand

Leave a Reply

