Etsy Christmas In July Leader – ButterflyFeetDigital

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Christmas In July Leader – Sherri from ButterflyFeetDigital

ButterflyFeetDigital

1. What is the name of your shop and where do you look for inspiration?

My shop name is Butterfly Feet Digital. I enjoy paper crafting – card making, scrap booking, etc. – so I enjoy looking through paper crafting magazines and books. But I can find inspiration in unexpected places – for example, I love fabric and I have done a fair amount of sewing over the years – but often when I see a fabric that I love I think, “That would make a great background paper for a greeting card.”

2. How has your shop evolved over time?

Because I love working with paper, learning to create my own papers to use in that hobby was the beginning – my first calendars were solely for my own refrigerator, and greeting cards got mailed out to my own family and friends. I started out making all my items in PDF format. I have learned a lot over the years about digital design in general, and now I usually make items in JPG format, and sometimes PNG if a transparent background is needed.

3. What do you love most about your work?

I enjoy creating computer art, and I love trying out different color combinations. I am self-taught, so there is a lot of trial and error, but it’s so fun to try out a new technique and to see what can be done with all the digital brushes and tools.

4. What motivating music do you listen to? Share your playlist that gets and keeps you going!        

I actually usually don’t put on music if I am just at the computer – I am pretty focused on what I’m doing and just don’t think about it. Some days especially when I am doing housework like today, I have on a Christian music station which I love, very soothing.

5. What book are you reading right now and where is your favorite place to read?

I really should read more than I do – I used to read all the time! Right now I am not reading one – however, I am working on writing a novella – again, I’m at my computer!

6. What are your social media sites?

Currently, none. I do have a sadly neglected blog – but it’s not about my Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

