Imagination Station

Contributor Post by Sheila and Shannon from BeadyEyedBird 

Remember the old Sesame Street fun about using your imagination? If not, here’s a little reminder: m.youtube.com/watch?v=QZawTyARxp0.

What do you like to imagine? Our teamies shared these items that trigger their imagination. We hope you’ll share your thoughts on this subject too.

Great idea! “Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.”- Einstein

I paint animals and flowers, but in my shop occasionally I have something special. This pastel painting I painted for an exhibition titled “Fairy tales of gold”. In many cultures, there is a theme of mythical dragon that guards the treasure. This dragon is scary and the only real hero can get the treasure…

This pastel drawing was presented at my exhibition 2014. I attach a catalog from the exhibition to the image shipment.

gold dragon

Gold dragon eye ABSTRACT Fine Art PASTEL DRAWING on green paper Large Original Animal Fantasy Realistic Modern Art Living room Wall decor

I think that as children we all start out with loads of imagination and somewhere along the way we stuff it in a drawer and become grown ups. Opening up that drawer again and letting it out frees a sense of spirit and joy.

I used to teach creative thinking and I found it was a wonderful way to loosen up the brain, sort of like brain floss. While doing farm chores I often let my mind wander and create stories in my mind – mental gymnastics if you will. The same thing happens when I bring my camera up to my eye (sorry, no cell phone in my house) – I try to see what others might not.

Come on, aren’t you just waiting for a little fairy to pop out of one of these while bells?

white bells

Metallic Print Pure White Lily of the Valley Macro Photograph ~ Metallic Print 16 x 20

I love babies and children. I used to teach in an occupational therapy setting in schools for learning disabled children. Many prospered to go on to regular education as parents imagined they would with a little jump start. I have one grand baby and one on the way. I imagine a house full of grand babies!! I dreamed of one last night!

child

Child’s Face Plate 8 Inch Dish Shaped as a Child’s Head Light Brown Curly Yellow Head Band Blue Eyes Child’s Room Decor Display Gift

Lisajoy Sachs from saxdsign said:

Imagination is what makes the world go round. Well, it does in my life. here is a piece that I made using precious metal clay. it is strung on pink rubies and has a flower in the hand and a small golden bee.

ruby hand

Ruby Necklace Fine Silver Recycled Silver 999 One Of A Kind Handmade by Lisajoy Sachs – PMC

Until next time,

Sheila

Leave a Reply

