Member Feature: SimplyLifeHandmade

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Sveta of SimplyLifeHandmade, our featured member!

SimplyLifeHandmade

SimplyLifeHandmade

Tell us about yourself.

Hello everyone!

My name is Sveta. I`m Russian, 42 years old. Almost 3 years live in Istanbul, Turkey with my family and have 4 years old son.

I graduated from Moscow State Academy of Light Industry, like engineer-technologist of light industry (textile). Many years worked like in garment companies in Russia, after worked like head of production department in advertising company, purchasing POS materials, OEM products from all over the world, mostly from China. I traveled for business a lot all around China during 5 years and learned many about all kinds of productions (glass, ceramic, textile, cosmetic bags, sport equipment, daily use and cosmetic products).

I love my family, my native country and my friends.img_4725-1

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my small business in 2013 when my son was born. Maternity vocation let me create different ideas for  handmade items, sewing and knitting,  which I dreamed during my long years job, but always didn’t have enough time for it.

I started to sell my ideas first through Russian web-site for handmade products.

After moving to Turkey I looked for opportunity to continue my small handmade business and in October 2014 joined Etsy. I was lucky to find fashion trendy giant merino yarn here. Having wide experience in sells and purchases in past I easily started new business.img_1790-jpg-1

Tell us a bit about your products.

I really love the yarn I sell and the items:  scarves, hats, pet beds, etc. But the most favorite are blankets…OMG! They are the most luxury in the world! I enjoy touching yarn during knitting, enjoy creating them and all the time think about customers how they will enjoy it too. Yarn is very soft, warm, Australian wool is the best in the world.

Giant yarn is unique: merino wool (hypoallergenic wool, acceptable even for newborns) have 3% elastane to keep yarns shape. I’ve never met any other Giant yarn with elastane.img_1651-jpg-1-jpg-1

What inspires your work?           

My customers inspires my work, their warm reviews and repeated orders from the same people. It means I did my job proper and this is the biggest inspiration.

Of course I’m looking through all fashion trends, colors, collections, ideas and trying to adopt them to my yarn.base4pkxljs

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

I’m planning to place free of charge patterns in Raverly, and create some patterns for sell.

My dream is my business bring me satisfaction and enough money. This year because of range system changing I wasn’t so successful with Etsy but it’s just motivation to grow up and became better and better.fullsizerender-18-jpg-1

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

Giant wool with elastane – thanks designers who created it, to keep yarn shape and as a result – to keep products shape from big stretching.img_3567-jpg-1

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I don’t have separate studio, but I have nice seaside view.img_5715-%d0%ba%d0%be%d0%bf%d0%b8%d1%8f

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I learned many about business development in Etsy, Instagram, other sites. I learned how to take photos and improve them (still study), and many programs helping to follow up business. I have met many interesting accounts and really talented people making excellent job.img_5217

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Never give up! It’s job, not much easier than in office, sometimes non-stop. You will be boss, and only you will be responsible for sells. Good luck!fullsizerender-7

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I like sports, swimming, long walks with my family along Bosphorus, like go to cinema, reading detectives, and being with friends.img_4331-%d0%ba%d0%be%d0%bf%d0%b8%d1%8f-jpg-1

What is your favorite quote?

Never give up!fullsizerender-4

Where can people find out more about your business?  

You can follow news from shop:
Intagram: @simplylifehm
Facebook: SimplyLife888
Twitter: @SimplyLifeHM
Pinterest: SimplyLifeHandmadea5277e671b8bb8086345feb8f74519f374c2b5ceb8f18b5bf5pimgpsh_fullsize_distr

 Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Thank you for your attention!img_2046

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

