Cleaning House

Contributor Post by Sheila and Shannon of BeadyEyedBird 

Have you ever read (or thought you should read) The Life-Changing Habit of Tidying Up? (www.amazon.com/Life-Changing-Magic-Tidying-Decluttering-Organizing/…) it’s great inspiration for decluttering! Whether it’s scrubbing or just reorganizing the piles, we wondered what folks thought about the subject of  Cleaning House. Here’s what our Etsy Christmas In July friends shared!

willowvalleyvintage from WillowValleyVintage said:

My daughter and I love Marie Kondo’s methods and even mention her on our Profile Page! We try to fill our shop with items that “Spark Joy!” This fun Arm & Hammer Chart shows “recipes” for cleaning nearly everything under the sun with baking soda! Now, you can “declutter” by tossing those expensive products stored in the cupboard! Baking soda does the trick from burned on food to bait buckets!
baking soda

Arm and Hammer Baking Soda Advertising Vintage 50s Outdoor Cleaning Chart Ad Litho Cardboard Dial “Carefree Camping” Fun Guide Kitschy Gift

pam colangelo from PearlsVintagebyPam said:

Well about cleaning: Etsy was all over my house. The girls at work encouraged me to move my work space from the kitchen table to the family room. It has really freed us up. Here’s a broom to help clean in the small areas. It is old and hand painted with real straw!
broom

Straw Hanging Hand Broom Wooden Spool Painted Lady With Strap Mid Century Antique Spool Art Primitive Rustic Farmhouse Decor Gift

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio said:

I have two daughters, both creative souls and both members of the Stock Lane Studio team. One is highly organized and a whiz when it comes to placement and design. Another claims to have a method to her cluttered madness but that remains to be seen. Little by little though, her household clutter is being whittled away. Revealing mounds of dust bunnies that are making her wish she had never tackled the clutter in the first place! We all know someone who needs a sign like this.
zone

Kids room Decor Printable Warning disaster Zone sign, digital Black Red Party Décor, Teen Room sig, digital sign for him her messy room 8×10

Marjorie Scenna from mscenna said:

Sometimes when you are cleaning and organizing, you end up with a lot of tiny things that need homes. I love using vintage and repurposed items on my dresser to store cosmetics, jewelry and other small items. This bird patterned repurposed trinket dish is great for holding jewelry, keys and other items.
bird

Bird Trinket Dish, Repurposed Jewelry Holder, Upcycled Tiered Candy Dish, Recycled Dish Bird Feeder, Potpourri Holder, Ceramic Dresser Tray

Sherri from ButterflyFeetDigital said:

 My printable calendars are something I use for myself all the time. I have found it really helpful to write it down on the day I do those certain routine chores – because a few days afterward I simply won’t remember when a chore needs to be done again. So, my calendars don’t just have doctor appointments, or call a friend this week. I know from a glance when to clean the shower again, or change the kitty litter! I love the simple usefulness of a calendar I can scribble whatever I need to on!
calender

SALE – 2017 Printable Calendar – New Chevron Design, Instant Download, Letter Size, JPG 300 dpi

Judy Merashoff from JAMsCraftCloset said:

 Cleaning…Yuck!

I would bet that cleaning and organizing is not at the top of anyone’s to do list. It is a necessary evil.

Here are some fun facts about cleaning…

1. You can burn 100 calories for each hour of cleaning. (I need to lose weight, but this would not be my first choice for doing it.)

2. By simply disinfecting your desk frequently, you can reduce sick days in the office by 30%. (N/A I am retired)

3. Dust particles are comprised of 70% dead skin flakes. (YUCK!!!)

4. Office phones have over 25 000 germs per square inch. (Going to clean my phone right NOW!)

5. For antibacterial cleaner to be effective it must be left on surfaces for 30 to 60 seconds before wiping away. (Thanks, I didn’t know this.)

6. The air quality in a closed space can be up to 500% worse than outdoors. (News to me.)

7. Most offices contain 400 times more bacteria than a toilet seat. (Glad I am retired for sure!)

8. One square metre of carpet can hold approximately 1kg of dirt. (Someone want to convert this for me?)

9. The average woman cleans for 12, 896 hours in her lifetime, while men clean an average of 6, 448 hours. (What’s up with this?)

10. Typical office workers hands come in contact with 10 million bacteria per day. (Again, retired.)

Source:
www.forbes.com
www.howstuffworks.com
www.disinfecttoprotect.com

I believe everyone should have a pretty and unique container for their trash in every room. Here is one for starters…

basket

Basket Wicker Wastepaper With Rust and Gold Ribbon BowUnique Vintage White Wicker Collector Awesome Gift Idea Bedroom Bathroom Basket

Annie from DesignedbyAnneliese said:

 Well I have been tidying up and decluttering the past few weeks as I prepare to move houses! Part of this process has been going through clothes and some have needed buttons sewn back on. So here are some fun buttons!
buttons

Novelty buttons, mixed buttons, teapots, hearts, flowers, flat back, set of 15

Donna Schindler from TreasuresFromTheLake said:

 This isn’t cleaning house, but it is a good way to clean out some of the craft beads and charms that you have left over from other projects.

Love these wine charms that you put on your glass so that you never forget whose glass is whose at a party.

charms

Wine charms, beach glass wine charms, sea glass wine charms, nautical wine charms, unique wine charms

Marijean from MariMartiDesigns said:

Nothing makes you clean house like the hormones that cause “nesting” in the second trimester of pregnancy! When pregnant with my first, my husband found me in the middle of the night climbing in the pantry to organize all of our party serving ware for the Baptism party we were going to throw four months later!

He also found me organizing (and reorganizing!!) all our food in the pantry! Stockpiling the faves and making donation bags constantly!

This time around, my home studio is getting tons of attention! It’s been VERY fruitful to organize beads and see what I really have in stock and what I need to order (vs just guessing)! The hormones have also inspired me to set up a more productive and consistent photography light box that is always ready to go!

That–and again, hoarding a bunker of our favorite foods!! I think my subconscious is worried about us starving to death when a new baby comes lol!

Here’s a tribute to all those pregnant mommies out there riding the highs and lows of those hormones that make us glow and grow!!! A new collection of mine inspired by the baby under my heart–a pregnancy tracking bracelet to help you keep time of your little one’s approaching birthday! A great baby shower gift or treat for yourself! You deserve it after all that life changing magic of mid night tidying!

Pickles and Ice cream maternity bracelet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Many thanks to those who shared their thoughts and great items with us!

Until next time,

Sheila

Leave a Reply

