Member Feature: theDelhiStore

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Vandana of theDelhiStore, our featured member!

theDelhiStore

theDelhiStore

Tell us about yourself.

I am Vandana, founder of the Etsy shop, theDelhiStore. I love textiles, diverse cultures and handicrafts.il_570xn_694806140_fnlb

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my Etsy shop in the year 2012. After completing college and working in IT education for a while I left my job as I wasn’t enjoying it much. Few years later I decided to combine my passion with my work, and start my own business in the textile industry.il_570xn-1162593345_mobl

Tell us a bit about your products.

I promote the work of Indian artisans who practice century-old handicrafts which require a lot of skill and patience. I sell hand block printed fabrics which are printed using hand carved wooden stamps, hand-woven fabrics, vintage fabrics, hand carved wooden stamps and trims. I also take custom printing work.il_570xn-822338454_r31w

What inspires your work?           

The urge to promote dying regional handicrafts and help save the livelihoods of the people who practice these crafts drives me and gives me a sense of purpose and direction in my work.il_570xn-1102575531_19oa

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

To setup a ready to wear and made to order garments section made from my fabrics.

I see my business becoming a known name among people who value handmade things, quality, hard work and support slow fashion.iss_fullxfull-6809469_5gi2f24n

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

Quality and designs.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

Yes, I do have a separate work space where I store all my fabrics and work.1-img_4346

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I wish I had not overstretched myself in running my business and should have given my health and fitness a priority but now I have mend my ways.1-2015-06-21

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Success doesn’t come overnight-it requires a lot of hard work and persistence, so, take one step at a time, and give your best. Also, put your customers first, and provide the best quality products and best possible customer service.1-2015-07-05

What is your favorite quote?

“The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.” – Benjamin Franklinil_570xn-1178668137_euw8

Where can people find out more about your business?  

Instagram: thedelhistore
Pinterest: theDelhiStoreil_570xn-780422294_875l

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: theDelhiStore

Leave a Reply

