Member Feature: JapaneseRubberStamps

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Nico of JapaneseRubberStamps, our featured member!

JapaneseRubberStamps

JapaneseRubberStamps

Tell us about yourself.

My name is nico from JapaneseRubberStamps.

I make cute and unique handmade rubber stamps.

I love art and creating, and analogue person, so I sketch my ideas on my notebook.

I live in Japan with my husband now and I have lived in the UK.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened JapaneseRubberStamps 2013 when I lived in the UK.

When I lived in Japan, I was full-time worked. I am completely free 24/7, so I wanted to do something nice hobby.

I found hand carved rubber stamps on the internet. I fell in love with these original stamps.

I couldn’t wait buying rubber and knife.

I made lots of rubber stamps, but I just have shown them to my family. It was not enough, so I opened my shop on Etsy.japaneserubberstamps-1

Tell us a bit about your products.

My rubber stamps are designed and carved by hand one by one.

I like cute and unique designs, so when I find a nice designs, I can’t stop making and showing stamps as soon as possible. I am really enjoy making stamps.

What inspires your work?           

When I go to a big shopping centre, I always see the display and decoration.

When I see a nice display, I get lots of ideas from the nice place.

I love Pinterest as well. When I see them, lots of wonderful ideas come to me.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

As you know, so many people don’t know about my shop.

So I would like to spread my handmade stamps all over the world and I want to get some orders constantly.il_fullxfull-812599066_eaip

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I love creating and my designs are very cute but some of them are unique and eccentric.

I would like to make unique stamps more!p1480123

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

Rubber stamps are very small suppliers, so I don’t have a separate workspace.

I am making rubber stamps using computer!

It is messy sometimes on my desk, so my husband is shocked, but I love my workspace.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

We could purchase lots of lovely items from the big stationery shop in Japan. I couldn’t find them often in the UK.

It is because people are creating themselves. So I knew handmade is the one of a great place to sell unique items in abroad, so I started opening my shop when I lived in the UK.

Also people love handmade items instead of machine-made.

They cheer creators purchasing handmade items and we can get motivate.p1480253

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Let’s start! That’s it.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love going out and eat delicious foods with my husband.

What is your favorite quote?

Life is short.

Where can people find out more about your business?  

My website: japanesestamps
FB: Japanese-Rubber-Stamps
Twitter:@nico_stamps
Pinterest: Japanese Rubber Stamps

 Is there anything else you’d like to share?

I started Youtube channel last year. I can show the photos and descriptions on Etsy, but it is not enough to show how to make and play rubber stamps.

I think Youtube videos are easy to understand how to use and how easy you can create new works using stamps.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCf7m7TTJVX6ZsNvejzS7bbA

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

