Member Feature: MustHaveBeenTheCat

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Cat of MustHaveBeenTheCat, our featured member!

MustHaveBeenTheCat

MustHaveBeenTheCat

Tell us about yourself.

I live in Tasmania, the beautiful island state of Australia. Surrounded by mountains, river and sea it’s truly a beautiful place to be.

I love all sorts of craft and I love to combine my love of sewing with my love of cats and so MustHaveBeenTheCat was born. I make all sorts of quirky cat creations but my most popular item is my cat shaped neck and shoulder therapy packs which can be used hot or cold.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened MustHaveBeenTheTheCat in 2011.

MustHaveBeenTheCat was the perfect chance to combine my love of cats and my love of sewing.

I chose MustHaveBeenTheCat as it’s often the cat that gets blamed for anything that goes wrong.

“Who knocked that expensive vase off the shelf?” “It must have been the cat!”tillie

Tell us a bit about your products.

My best selling items are my heat packs. I have cat, dog and fox shaped neck and shoulder wrap heat packs. Great for easing those sore and stiff necks.

I also have cat dolls,cat themed totes and phone covers, book covers, fleecy scarves and hand warmers.

My newest range are my cat shaped weighted shoulder wraps and lap pillows for those with sensory processing issues.2015-10-21-20-45-02

What inspires your work?           

I am inspired by my love of cats. They are so irresistible. Every cat has its own personality. Just like my own creations, no two are the same.

I have to admit to being a fabricholic or is it a curator of fabric? So much beautiful fabric and so little time and so little room.

Being able to sell my creations made with gorgeous fabrics gives me an excuse to buy more.fox6a

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

 I’d like to get a standalone website up and running and use up some more of my gorgeous fabric collection.c2387013154ca0cf52dd8f1de07ca540

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I think I have a niche market ans no-one else creates the things I do but if I we are just talking about heat packs mine are unique as they are cat, fox and dog shaped made in gorgeous fabrics and no two are alike.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

My work space is my kitchen table so it can be frustrating as I have to pack up everything at the end of the day and set it up again the next time.

My ultimate dream would be to have a dedicated work space …. my own studio.78fa376f2fd4c0060381c9fd90bbfb8d

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I wish I had known how much work it would be and also how much fun it would be and that I would find such a wonderful support network on Etsy.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Make sure you join an active and supportive team it can make all the difference to your success.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

When I’m not working I’m studying. I’m doing a second degree course as well as a certificate course. It keeps me busy and out of mischief.

I’ve also taken up quilting and love to use up all those scraps from my creations to make new fabric and exciting quilts. Well if I’m really honest I make lots of quilt tops but haven’t actually finished any yet. So many things to do and so little time.ab35b19e70093909eb4c16441222e4df

What is your favorite quote?

5ce860e96600b77b32a4197141712d5b

Where can people find out more about your business?  

You can also find me on:
Instagram: http://instagram.com/musthavebeenthecat
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/musthavebeenthecat

And my Shopify store: https://must-have-been-the-cat.myshopify.com

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: MustHaveBeenTheCat

Leave a Reply

