The Secret Gardener

Contributor Post by Opal from ApronStringsOwlLady

The Secret Gardener

Spring, flowers and planting/garden time.. will be here before we know it! Of all the seasons I think Spring is my favorite, the new flowers and grass – the birds singing in the trees, but planting and gardening can go on year round.

What kind of idea’s – gifts for others or yourself – does this topic bring to mind? It can be indoor gardening as well.

Practical, whimsical, down and dirty (in the dirt planting), or garden design, while wearing your favorite white outfit? I’d love to hear your thoughts and see your items.

willowvalleyvintage from WillowValleyVintage says

 Here in Michigan, spring is a welcome season! We have many gardens and a fish pond in our yard to enjoy. I can’t wait for the bulbs to bloom, signaling the end of winter.

A fairy garden in my kitchen window brings a pop of green to our dreary landscape. We have many tiny items in our Shop that are perfectly sized for fairy gardens.

This little bird bath is one of them:

Birdbath Dollhouse Miniature Fountain Toy "Plasco" Cherub with Fish Fairy Garden Art Vintage 40s Collectible Doll Patio Decor Bird Bath Gift

Birdhouse Dollhouse Miniature Fountain

Susan-Sharon Passmore from MsPDesignsUSA says

 Spring is a noisy time of the year in our garden. The birds are competing for mates, building nests, and raising babies. The bees are buzzing in the flowers, and the frogs are singing their croaking chorus in the evening. We love to sit outdoors in the cool evening, enjoying the sights and sounds of Nature!

Our downloadable quilt block pattern features a little frog who isn’t quite sure whether the bumblebee is tasty or dangerous. This would be a fun decoration for a kitchen towel, mug rug, or spring wall hanging.

Frog or toad PDF applique quilt block pattern; North American forest woodland or swamp animal quilt; kid's or baby boy quilt block pattern

Frog PDF Quilt Pattern

Barbara from MermaidsHatbox says

 Secret Garden

I love the spring season in my garden, when all plants grow up and every day we discover something new.
This year will be the third year in which I will be working intensively on a vegetable garden to provide ourselves with the whole year.
I look forward to do this.
I spend much time in my garden, and love to protect myself with one of my Sun Hats.

Hut - Summerhat - Gardenhat - Hat for the Beach Gr 55/56

Summer hat-Garden Hat

Linda from LazyYVintage says

 I’m knee-deep in seed catalogs and writing in my garden journal. In addition to my vegetable garden, we plant Impatiens, vinca, geraniums, and other annuals in colorful and vintage pots. My perennial gardens are full of wildflowers that run the gamut of color and height. Butterfly gardens full of bergamot, sawtooth sunflower, shooting stars, turk cap lilies, day lilies, Easter lilies, bearded iris, and on and on.

Gardening to me is about feeding us and creating a beautiful peaceful place to relax and reconnect with yourself and your spiritual guide.

Maple Syrup Sap Bucket Tin Garden Decor Sap Bucket Yard and Garden Art Rustic Farmhouse Home Decor Rusty Decoration Gardens

Garden Decor Sap Bucket

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says

 My mother was an award-winning rose gardener. The photo below was taken in her garden a year before she passed away. I’ve always wanted to grow the abundant, fragrant and colorful roses she tended in our garden growing up. I have given in to the fact that mine will never be like hers! Not enough time and too many garden animals. I want to devote more time to an edible garden. We have gorgeous wild roses growing in our garden, along with a good amount of other forest greenery that provide food for wild animals. I’m hoping that will be enough to distract them from eating the edible garden for MY table. Even with fences, though, I’m not too confident. With more than a foot of snow on the ground now in February, the deer and rabbits and fox and woodchucks will be hungry this spring.
Pink roses photograph, pastel floral photography, nature wall art for her, girls dorm apartment decor, Mother's Day gift feminine art

Pink Rose Photograph

Lia Russo from Ghirlandiamo says

 Unfortunately I have no garden, since l live in a building.

But, as l love gardening anyway, each one of the four balconies of my home is full of plants.

On the kitchen balcony l have aromatic plants, herbs, used for cooking and seasoning: basil, peppermint, parsley, rosemary, and so on.

On the other ones, a wonderful hibiscus and many succulents, as in South Italy there is always enough sun for them, even in winter.

So, to celebrate mine passion and the next spring coming, l created a wreath, completely dedicated to gardening lovers.
Hope you enjoy it!

Gardener wreath, gardener gift idea, green thumb friend gift, backyard wreath, garden themed wreath, garden themed decor, backyard decor

Gardener Wreath

Simone aka Rose from RosesFeltWorkshop says

 I adore the small spring bulbs, whether growing wild, in a garden, or even in a window-box. Snowdrops and crocuses bring such a joyful splash of colour after the dark monochrome of winter.

By creating flowers from felt I allow small reminders of that joyful moment to be kept through the year.

Snowdrops purse felt flowers green makeup bag phone case clutch bag

Felt Flowers Snowdrops Purse

Mrs. A. from 2aEmporium says

 I love springtime! Everything is fresh and new. I like the green grass and trees and all the colorful flowers…and they always look the prettiest against the blue skies of a Oklahoma day. Sadly, my nose and eyes don’t share in this enjoyment! So I celebrate springtime inside.

We made this whimsical floral pillow cover with spring in mind. The pink and yellow flowers are just so “happy”. Our pillow cover would fit perfectly in just about any home decor setting.

Whimsical Floral Pillow Cover, Duck Cloth Fabric, Upcyled Table Linen, White, Yellow, Pink, Cottage Home Decor, Modern Home Decor, Gift Idea

Whimsical Floral Pillow Cover

Candy Rauber from WickedlyCreative says

 Here in Orlando, the seasons are not as defined by weather as they are in other parts of the country. You have to depend on decor to help your mind get into the spirit of the season. I created this hand embroidered Spring ornament to celebrate the flowers and birds that best represent Spring.
Spring Hand Embroidered Ornament, Prim Spring Decoration, Colorful Door Hanger, Blue Bird, Bird House, Woodland, Garden Flowers decor

Spring Hand Embroidered Pillow Ornament

Sue and Misty from shabbyshopgirls says

 Whether you love to garden indoors or out, this adorable little water spike will help out with the amount of water needed in your house plants! We love collecting these little critters and have found them in lots of different shapes. This little guy is just in time for Easter and Spring – an adorable bunny rabbit who would like to help with your watering instead of eating your plants!
Ceramic Bunny Rabbit Watering Soaker House Plants Spike - Plant Irrigation - Gardening - Hand Painted Lil Squirt Watering Spike - Gift

Ceramic Bunny Water Soaker

Pam Maggio from PamsPawsJewelry says

I really love Spring with its promise of new life both in the plant world and in the animal kingdom!

It is such a joy to see all of the beautiful and colorful flowers growing and the leaves coming back on the trees!

Gardening indoors and out is one of my favorite things to do and I enjoy planting all manner of flowers, veggies, and small ornamental trees!

It refreshes your spirit, is good exercise, and beautifies your surroundings.

Outside of a small apartment out in the country, in Lancaster, MA, I had 3 gardens which were all different color schemes!

My neighbors loved them and my pots of pansies, golden chain and weeping Japanese ornamental trees!

I used to do experiments with growing and pollinating, and even had a corn-stalk in the house!

One garden was all peach and white, another purples and blues, and the third was red, orange, and yellow.

It was so much fun planting unique varieties of roses, tulips, irises, lilies, hyacinths, phlox, Alaskan poppies, and lots more with various natural stone garden decorations!

It is definitely something I look forward to through the long Winters in the Northeast!

Happy Gardening!

Gardening Angel Brooch Cherub Angel Watering Flowers Pin Vintage AJC Gardening Club Enthusiasts Gift Angel Tending Garden Lovers Jewelry

Gardening Angel Brooch

Jerry and Opal from ApronStringsOwlLady says

 Thank you everyone for your wonderful submissions! I love them all.

To me outside gardening is more for my husband but I love flowers, colors and all things springtime. I made outdoor birdhouses this month, of course, with owl lady owls hand painted on them.

Springtime and gardens are so lovely! When I worked at a local college back in my teaching days, I would visit the student gardens and spend my breaks they’re walking amidst the blooms.

Birdhouse Outdoor BirdHouse Redwood Owl Yard Art Outdoor Owl Spring Owl Decor Owl Whimsical Decor Wooden Owl Yard Art Outdoor Owl Gifts

Outdoor Spring Owls Theme Birdhouse

 

Leave a Reply

