The Joy Of Color

Contributor Opal from ApronStringsOwlLady

As an artist I love colors of every hue, brightness, patina, neon! You name it I have used it in some aspect in an art or craft item. As a collector, I love the unique and wonderful vintage item, the older the better – in many aged woods and metals, or any combination, even plastic and fabrics!

If this topic has swept over you with magnificent rainbows, fluttering golden wings and blue-green ocean waves Please share your thoughts! We’d love to hear them and see your items.

Leila Blakely from LasLovelies says

 I have always loved the bright and bold color palette . My favorite is the rainbows I get to see from my view into the river valley below me. I have several beautiful double rainbow photos I have been able to capture. God’s handiwork and promise.

This little gal is the epitome of a rainbow. Ha! Her colorful leggings and bright multi colored cumber bun. I really don’t think anyone can get any closer to a bright and bold statement as this little doll. As much as this palette is my favorite I certainly don’t think I would be caught dead wearing an outfit like this. Ha!

Alexander Doll Jingles Juggler 10404, Brown Haired Juggler Doll, Madame Alexander Doll Made in USA, Jester Juggler Dressed Doll

Alexander Doll Jingles

Evelyn and Lucy from artsyEVE says

 I enjoy beautiful colors, and a cold, drab winter makes me anxious for spring when the green shoots of grass begin to appear and colorful Easter eggs can be hidden among the budding spring flowers. This gift bag is perfect for spring and for Easter gifts; it is the color of spring!
Easter, Springtime Gift Bag

Springtime Gift Bag

As an artist I love getting my hands covered in paints. I seem to paint myself as well as any piece I am working on. My favorite color is Yellow warm and relaxing. I totally get lost in colors and thoughts while painting. Painting and designing my work bring joy to my life with a slash of color to my world.
Easter egg door hanger Easter door hanger Easter Egg Spring door hanger Spring Wreath Garden stake Yard Art ©Jack Jack's Wayart

He is Risen Sign

CKay from DaffodilLaneStudio says

Soo….as an interior designer, I’m an equal opportunity COLOR lover!! There really isn’t ANY color I don’t enjoy working with! I often push folks to step away from the safe and boring ” beige” as I know they are always more thrilled with the “feeling” a color brings to an interior.

As for my ETSY work…COLOR is always critical. I like things to blend well, so I’m very “picky” about how an art piece comes together. Every addition to a piece has to be complimentary. I consider the “balance” of color throughout every work as well. Here are Holt Howard Kitties that are “Vintage Valentine’s brought to life!” Putting together a pleasing palette for this pair was fun for me!

Holt Howard Kitty Cat Valentine Decoration Vintage Japan Mid Century Modern 50's 60's Kitsch Style Whimsical Retro Holiday Figurine OOAK

Kitty Cat Valentine Decor

Sue and Misty from shabbyshopgirls says

 Many people are afraid of color! As a designer, we love to start with a few key pieces in solids and start adding colors and textures. Most kitchens tend to have a neutral color palette and this is one of the easiest rooms to add pops and sparks of color! Start with a colorful vase, a piece of artwork or a series of colorful tea towels. It will liven up the room and your enhance your spirit!
Vintage Tea and Scones Kitchen Towel by Lamont Strawberry Jam Scones Recipe Tea Dish Towel English Cottage Cream Teas Tea Time Gift

Vintage Tea Towel

Marie-Antoinknit from 9ElizabethStreet says

 I don’t think I ever met a color I didn’t like (except maybe mustard yellow). When I find a design or pattern I like, my first inclination is to make it in every color that the fiber comes in. I have made my winter hats in all the basics – black, brown, gray, blue – and have more to work through. My favorite so far is this bright pistachio green, accented with a hint of white & gray alpaca.
Pistachio Green Russian Style Hat, Hand Knit Cossack Hat, Wool Ski Cap, Winter Toque, Warm Winter Hat, Man's or Woman's Hat, Ready to Ship

Russian Style Hat

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeSupplies says

 I love colour (even when it is not in fashion – lol) and one of my first memories of colour is looking through a kaleidoscope as a child. The patterns and colours left an imprint on my mind that I am still inspired by today.

These beads, available in a range of colours, remind me of the kaleidoscope effect because of the faceted surface which reflects colour, and look great when incorporated in jewellery, costume design , bunting, journalling and more.

Faceted Tear Drop Acrylic Sew on Beads in Blue, Green, Gold, Silver, Purple & Red Jewellery and Craft Supplies 2.2 cm x 1.1cm - lots of 20

Tear Drop Sew On Beads

Mi H from MCART30 says

 Color is magical! It tells stories hidden in a piece of art. I love all colors ranging from black and white to pastel and bold rainbow colors. I guess it depends on my mood at that moment to decide which color to use in my painting. I am thankful to be able to enjoy colors and appreciate them as much as I can.
Cute Beaded Elephant, 3D Beaded Animals, 3D Beaded Miniature Blue Elephant, Cute Animal Home Decor, 3D Figure, Home Design, Bead Toy

Cute Beaded Elephant

Connie Lee from Bungalow42 says

 Once upon a time I was completely intimidated by color. As a then Manhattanite I tended to wear black – a lot. It was not until I began to take classes in jewelry design that my eyes were opened to the endless possibilities of color. In much of my work I lean toward bright colors and unusual pairings of disparate colors. Finding vintage materials in unusual colors or color pairings is always a joy.

These three necklaces feature a trio of vintage hand painted fish with a folk art vibe in bright and interesting color combinations. The fish were originally part of a large statement necklace. The original piece had large oxidized chain links with antique brass bells and etched fish as well as four smaller plump hand painted fish which I turned into earrings. The necklace was a vintage piece that belonged to a family member but no one seems to know its origins. Reimagining that original funky strand of odd bits of vintage painted wood and metal was such fun!

Folk Art Fish Necklace

Folk Art Fish Necklace

Nancy Duncan from EponasCrystals says

 My favorite colors are that of a glorious sunrise. Pinks, blues, orange, and white, with the yellow of the sun mixed in. I made these earrings with that in mind.

Reminiscent of the colors in a desert sunrise, these earrings will be sure to start off your day in a colorful way!

Desert Sunrise Multi Color Copper Beaded Earrings Bohemian Jewelry Tribal Jewelry

Bohemian Jewelry

Richard and Tatiana from DesignstheLimit says

 We love to use different colors to tell a story with our listing photos. When photographing our new 7 ounce juice glasses last spring, the flowers in our yard where in full bloom and we picked the flowers in this listing photo from behind our garage. We love the way this listing came together and are looking forward to taking more pictures as soon as the flowers start to bloom.
We started offering wine and champagne glasses for the bridal party and on occasion would receive a special request for the Flower Girls and Jr. Bridesmaids so we decided to take action. At Design’s the Limit, we love custom order requests. let us know if you have any out of the box ideas, we look forward to hearing from you.
Flower Girl Personalized Juice Glasses Engraved for your Recipient with Our Bridal Party Monogram Design Options (Each - 6.75 oz.)

Flower Girl Juice Glass

Dawn Whitehandfrom DeeDeeDeesigns says

 I love colour! This charm bracelet is created from paper beads – made by myself. Glossy advertisement brochures are used to make the beads – and we all know how colourful advert mags are! So they are prefect for designing colourful paper beads.
Handmade Charm Bracelet Bright Colourful Paper Beads Recycled Vegan Jewellery

Handmade Charm Bracelet

Valerie Brown from FirepanJewellery says

 I LOVE color – which is evident if you take a scroll through my shop! I made these pendants after being inspired by the color of a glacier I saw, which was blue even though we think of ice or snow as white. This led me to think about all of the colors that make up white light until it is bent by a prism! Hence, the “Colors of white” enameled pendants!
Colors of white enamel pendant - blue, green, orange, pink, purple, yellow, colorful jewelry, gift for her, casual, feminine, unique

Colors of White Pendant

christine from designmefab says

 I love bright colors and unusual textures in my pieces!

I have always had a flair for fashion, and design.
Something about bright, bold colors, just gives you that feel good feeling of calm and serenity.
All my creations are colorful bold and a part of my personality.
Bright, stones and fabrics, just seem to make the world a sunnier place!
I hope you love my creation!
Rainbow color stone teeth, pink turquoise Buddha’s.

Amazing bohemian stone and turquoise statement necklace, colorful boho necklace, tigers eye necklace, statement necklace, gift for her, boho

Bohemian Necklace

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says

 Here is a bright colorful photograph from my photography shop. Carnival or Mardi Gras season is coming up and I though this shot of the Gilles of Binche in Belgium would be perfect. I love how the photograph captures the wind blowing their white ribbons and ruffling their ostrich plumed hats. This white creates a sharp contrasts with their colorful hand stitched traditional costumes and baskets of oranges.
Travel Photography Carnival Parade Belgium European festivals photo 4x8 wanderlust decor Belgian culture carnaval spring celebrations Binche

Belgian Travel Photography

Robyn Campbell from RobynFayeDesigns says

Anyone who’s been into my shop will see a riot of colour! My home is like a rainbow, rooms of blue, yellow, green, red, grey and beige all because my kids got to choose their bedroom colour and they went bright as kids do. When I saw this beautiful colourful fabric I thought perfect for a little girl’s bag!

il_570xn-1064734096_9d5w

Little girls flower fabric purse

Cristal Hughes from DesignsbyCristal says

As an artist I love creating many of my pieces with vibrant colors in mind. Color to me makes even a gloomy day seem brighter!! While my favorite colors are purple, red, coral, and turquoise I will still experiment with any color to its fullest potential. As you can see in this wristlet I love many shades of color and will use just about anything to bring it to life.

In my home I have painted the walls a neutral color so that I can use vibrant colors to bring life to each room and tell the story of what they are used for which leaves my guest walking wanting to take those ideas to implement in their own homes. Yes….color is the way to express yourself to its deepest level.

Peace and Love crossbody bag

Peace and Love crossbody bag

Solvia from Knitwoolsocks says

I like to knit a bright and colorful socks. It reflects my approach to life. I believe that colors have a therapeutic effect.As a knitter I love to see the item that I am working on begin to take shape and turn into a finished product that someone will enjoy.
All my items are made with love and positive thoughts and My goal is to make you smile and bring you Joy.

Colorful hand knit wool socks

Colorful hand knit wool socks

Karen Hafel from timetalentjewels says

Each and every item in my shop are bright and colorful and it is visible in this necklace. The beads are bright and bold and remind me of when I was a kid, little rock candies and bright-colored jawbreakers or even bubble gum that you could buy for a penny. Nowadays I don’t believe you can buy anything for a penny! A penny doesn’t go very far these days…does it!

Rainbow colored wire crochet jewelry set

Rainbow colored wire crochet jewelry set

Jerry and Opalfrom ApronStringsOwlLady says

Hello everyone, these are great examples of the joys found in color combinations.

I work mostly in pastels and when I set my shop up found myself challenged by a special order (and realizing I had limited my palette) when a customer requested bold colors of red, black and white.

My owl paper towel holder came out pretty cute!

Owl Paper Towel Holder, Wooden Owl Kitchen Decor, Owl Kitchen, Owl Gifts, Owl Decorations, Custom Owl Gifts, Cute Owl, Hand painted Owl

Owl Paper Towel in Bold Colors

Leave a Reply

