Member Feature: JennCrochetCreations

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Jennifer of JennCrochetCreations, our featured member!

JennCrochetCreations

JennCrochetCreations

Tell us about yourself.       

I am a Portland, Oregon native and I spent over half my live there before moving to Salem, Oregon. I absolutely love the beauty Oregon has to offer and how creative Oregonians are. I’m also a stay at home mommy to 5 wonderful children two of whom are special needs, so life is always a bit hectic. I learned to crochet when I was probably 8 or 9 years old, sitting next to my grandmother as she did it after dinner. It was a special time for us and I’m truly grateful that she was able to teach me before passing on.  Fast forward several years and what began as a way to simply unwind and let my creative side out, turned into a way to provide for my family and have fun.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my shop in 2014 on a whim and had no idea what I was doing, or if people would even buy my items. I had done a few local craft shows and had local orders through family and friends. People seemed to like my items. So after talking it over with my husband and mother I gave it a shot. I crocheted pretty much daily anyhow so I had nothing really to lose at that moment. Since then I have expanded to other social media sites to promote and interact with people and share my crafts.

Tell us a bit about your products.           

I make a variety of different types of crocheted items to fit everyone’s needs. From scarves, hats and gloves, to baby clothing / accessories and home décor items. I love experimenting with bright vibrant colors to create a new spin on traditional items.j

What inspires your work?           

Above all its something I truly love to do, I would be doing it daily no matter what so why not share that with others!!! My children also inspire me to do my best. They are the first people who see my creations and I’m constantly asking their opinions on what to make and colors to use.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

My business  goal for 2017 if to sell to all 50 states. Sounds simple but it’s actually harder than you think.

I think my dream for my business would be to expand enough to pay my bills and have people know Jenn’s Crochet Creations.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

Being a mom of 5 having and basically still starting out my own work space is non-existent at this time. I work mostly at my dinning room table or snuggled up with one of my children watching tv at night.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Go for your dream what do you have to lose??j2

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

My hobby is crocheting, I always have yarn and hooks with me. That rare moment in my crocheting I am spending time with my children and husband.

What is your favorite quote?

You are never to old to set another goal, or dream another dream.  C.S. Lewisj3

Where can people find out more about your business?  

Etsy
www.etsy.com/shop/JennCrochetCreations

Facebook
www.facebook.com/JennsCrochetCreations

Pinterest
www.pinterest.com/jennscreation

Twitter
www.twitter.com/CrochetJenn

Instagram

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

