Hobby Month

Contributor post by Alicia from AliciasFindings

January is Hobby Month, which is a great time to teach a class, get together with others to craft or even learn a new one!

Here at CIJ we want to know about your hobby. What about it satisfies you? When did you first start doing it? Anything else you want to tell us about it?

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns says well, way back years ago, pottery was my hobby… I got into it as “time out” from young kids (who are now adults) and over time it has – gratefully – developed into a profession.
As a professional, not only do I make and sell on Etsy, I also exhibit and teach classes and workshops in my studio – so I am very fortunate!!
And it is fantastic to think that I make home decor items that people can use and engage with everyday – it is a great feeling.

il_570xN.1120476530_npo6.jpg

Ceramic oval speckled blue bowl

Mi H from MCART30 discusses that I would say I love working with paper and beads. I’ve always been making greeting card for friends on their birthday. I started beading couple years ago and can never stop!
I’m very excited to start my shop this year and work on things I love to do. No more 9-5 office job, yay!

Easter gift tags

Easter gift tags

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeSupplies said as a creator I love to make jewellery and over time this ‘hobby’ has developed into selling my jewellery and, now, also selling jewellery and craft supplies. A lot of the supplies I sell are manufactured, but some I also make myself such as these organic polymer marbled beads.

 

Handmade Marbled Polymer Clay Beads

Handmade Marbled Polymer Clay Beads

Sheila and Shannon from BeadyEyedBird says my hobby (and current profession) is supporting my talented jewelry designer daughter. In the process, I’ve followed in her footsteps and now I’m in love with gemstones and jewelry-making too. She’s still the one with all the talent, though. Here’s one of her creations featured in our shop.

Turquoise bead necklace

Turquoise bead necklace

Diana from joliefemmebydiana states that I love embroidery! I started teaching myself from kits at age 10 and now I draw my own designs and add them to my products when I can. I have also taught beginning embroidery at my local quilt shop to both adults and kids and it’s so fun to share! Embroidery is soothing and engrossing and a great hobby for me!

Mini hand embroidered tote

Mini hand embroidered tote

Alicia from AliciasFindings said that I have quite a few hobbies and most of them are craft related. My jewelry started out as a hobby, with me getting together with friends to create. I sell online and at craft shows. I also love to read, loom knit, color and so much more.

Cayenne red dichroic glass pendant necklace

Cayenne red dichroic glass pendant necklace

Pam Colangelo from PearlsVintagebyPam discusses that her hobby is reading. She especially loves the movie Titanic
since it makes you feel very emotional. What a tragedy, such a beautiful ship and people-such a sad history.

Titanic hardcover book

Titanic hardcover book

Leave a Reply

