January 2017 – New Year – New You!

Contributor Post Opal from ApronStringsOwlLady

Welcome to January 2017 – It’s January 1st and I’m already thinking about exercise routines, being more organized, less procrastination maybe, maybe finally getting my Etsy arranged as I want it .

How about your – Has the new year got you thinking about any -it’s a new year, new you – scenarios?

Did you sign up for a marathon, plan a diet, or reflecting on better choices this year- Are you saving for a dream vacation or a new home?

Do any items in your shop relate to the theme, New Year, New You? We’d love to hear your comments and see your items.

Beach Art Ink Drawing, Honey I'm Home! Black and White Sea Gulls Building a Nest Ocean or Beach Art Beach House Decor Home Decor Birds Nests

Beach Art Ink Drawing

A new us this year. We celebrate our 40th anniversary and we move towards semi-retire. Me going full time on my Etsy shops, and Jimmy moving into environmental restoration. Prescribed burns, wetlands, forests, tall grass prairies. But first, a trip to the beach and some time looking at real estate in warmer climates.

Victoria Webb from Furiousdreams says

 On my second week of full retirement! So excited to be able to devote time to my Etsy shop again and to be painting full-time. Looking forward to exhibiting more and adding new work here.

For now, one of my recent small paintings can enhance anyone’s art collection.

Study 1 Original Abstract Painting 6 x 6 fuschia, blue, aqua, pink, cobalt blue, lavender

Original Abstract Painting

2017 is here and I’m going to more of a participant to all my teams one of my goals for the new year. Last summer we cleaned out my in-laws house over 50+ yrs of stuff to clean out and finally cleaning out totes, came across many fond memories and the wife said post this so now the shop is offering Barbie memories for the ladies who grew up in the 1970s…..

Vintage Mattel Barbie furniture collection early 1970s great addition for your Barbie collection

1970 Mattel Barbie Furniture

I’m still thinking about my new choices for 2017 – is that a form of procrastination or just considered thought?
Oh well…. to help me think there is nothing better than a cup of coffee – or tea, or hot chocolate!!

Coffee Cup Soup Mug Ceramic Handmade Pottery Black Tea Cup Dawn Whitehand on Etsy

Coffee Cup Soup Mug

Once again I face doing the whole of my annual accounts in one go before the dreaded January deadline

I am trying to figure out ways to bribe myself / force myself somehow to do it in sensible monthly chunks, and how can I make this a resolution that lasts past February!

I want to just curl up in bed with this hot water bottle in it’s lovely cosy.

British wool hot water bottle cover wine red handknit soft bottle cosy hottie cover

Hot Water Bottle Cover

Our New Year’s resolution is to drink Red Wine and Be Happy! As science is now confirming what we already knew to be true, Red Wine is the Best!

Personalized Wine Decanter and Stemware with His, Hers, and Ours Design with Font Selection (Set including Decanter, Stopper, and Stemware)

Personalized Wine Decanter

At Design’s the Limit, we have a whole section of our shop devoted to Wine and we encourage our customers to drink to good health, in good company, in moderation, and in style with a monogrammed glass! The perfect gift for any occasion and the best gift to give to yourself for all of your hard work in 2016!

I’m so excited to see what 2017 has in store for me! I am working on a whole new set of paintings that I can’t wait to share with everyone.. I am also getting a certification in deciphering Heiroglypics – so that’s going to fun too. I would also like to take this opportunity to thanks the Etsy CIJ team for being the best and always including me in their posts and blogs. It’s really wonderful to be part of such an amazing community! Here is my entry : the colors I chose for this Cat Painting are also inspired by Egyptian Art. I have always felt cats make the perfect muse!

Cat painting - abstract - blue black gold cat - on 8x10 inch canvas

Abstract Cat Painting

Here’s to a golden 2017!

Looking forward to spending more time on creativity and creating in 2017! Learning new skills, improving my process and being ready for seasonal and holiday trends is what I have on my plate for the new year. We will see what time and life will allow but it’s great to have lofty goals!

Cozy Stitching Lady on Pocket of Turquoise Blue with White Dot Floral Mini Tote

 

My birthday is on the 8th January!

Friendship Bracelet Zigzag Macrame Knotted Wristband

Macrame Friendship Bracelet

I have to get started on cleaning out the closets and all that stuff that gets routinely ignored. Fun. but I am looking forward to making new stuff for my shop! Also, crafty stuff that I don’t sell – some sewing and some paper crafting – feeding paper to my Cricut!

I use my own calendars to help keep me organized. I have this one printed out and sitting on my desk:

Watercolor Printable 2017 Desk Calendar, 4 x 6 inch, Watercolor Splash Art Style, Home or Office Calendar, Instant Download

Watercolor Printable Calender

After the wind not blowing my way for the second half of last year, this year I’ve adjusted the sails and am heading in a better direction! The new me is looking after herself more, learning some new skills and remembering to take some time out to recharge the batteries!

She Stood In The Storm, Inspirational Quote, Typography Print, Nautical Print, Inspirational Print, Motivational Quote, 8 x 10 Print

Inspirational Quote

Wonderful submissions, thank you!

My New Year, New You is thinking more outside the box in my paintings and colors that I choose. I’ve started with this colorful Hippie Owl Paper Towel Holder and I invested in a new water color set to expand my business into even more creative ventures.

Owl Paper Towel Holder, Wooden Owl Kitchen Decor, Owl Kitchen, Owl Gifts, Owl Decorations, Custom Owl Gifts, Cute Owl, Hand painted Owl

Handcrafted Owl Paper Towel Holder

Sue from SuesAkornShop says

I’m hoping to become better organized this year. These small, cute mercury glass vanity jars and help me keep paper clips, buttons or things like cotton balls all in one area. They work well for small spaces and are cute, so it’s nice to display them.

Ornate Vanity Jar, Mercury Glass Jars, Mothers Day, Lidded Jars, Glass Container, Metallic Glass, Silver in Color, Decorative Jars, Storage

Ornate Mercury Glass Jars

Organization is always at the top of my list of things to do…As a crafter and maker of things my studio always seems to be a cluttered mess. I am also a list maker, and that seems to help me stay on track, but the most important thing for me is to be on time. This is a goal that can be easily attained by anyone, with the right equipment. On Etsy, I am a supply seller, so this year I am trying a couple new items, this is one of them:

Watch Face for DIY projects Silver tone Round with white face celestial stars moons

DIY Project supply -Watch Face

 

 

Leave a Reply

