Bird Day

Contributor post by Alicia from AliciasFindings

This day is mostly about the plight of captive birds, but also about celebrating birds. This day is on 1/5.

There are so many birds in this world and so much to know about them. Here at CIJ we want to know what you have in your shop related to birds.

Leila Valois from ValoisFelts says I love birds, and they’re great fun to felt. Some of my favourites are curlews, pigeons and robins.

There’s not many come into my garden but I love all the ones that do and always have seeds and water available so they feel welcome.

il_570xn-817989712_s9ze

Red robin on spade decoration

Carola Bartz from CarolaBartz said birds are so cute, I love to watch them and birds singing is the best sound in the morning. I planted my garden in such a way that it provides food, water and shelter for them, and I’m so happy that there is quite a variety of birds hanging out there.

il_570xn-1014312982_acjr

watercolor bird mini journal

Sue from SuesAkornShop states I love the spring time and when the birds are everywhere. I enjoy hearing the ships they make as they talk to and with each other. There are so many different kinds flying about and eating from the feeder and I love watching each and every one of them. I love owls, cardinals and robins are everywhere.

il_570xn-1124618193_d2n2

Owl kitchen towel

Susan-Sharon Passmore from MsPDesignsUSA discusses that I love to hear the cardinals in my back yard as they “talk” with each other about building their nest, raising their babies, and finding food to eat! Cardinals live in our area year-round, and enjoy feasting on berries from our flowering shrubs or the insects that they catch. The male cardinal has brilliant red feathers, but his mate is better equipped to blend into the foliage where they raise their young.

 

Cardinals PDF applique quilt block

Cardinals PDF applique quilt block

Linda from LazyYVintage says is it spring yet? Robins are always one of my favorites as they mean the winter is leaving and spring has began. I participate in the winter bird count, where with the Audubon Society you take a day to track the birds in your yard or local nature areas. We feed the birds and document the ones we see on that day. Unfortunately, Robins are not on our list as they migrate and will only be back in the spring.

Shumann Bird on flower plate

Shumann Bird on flower plate

Traci Braithwaite from mytoffeeapple said this original painting in ochre red oils.The Emu is an Australian native flightless bird the size of an Ostrich.
I love to see these characters the Emu running around in the bush and the open space where the Banksia trees grow in my coastal village located on the East coast of Australia.

Emu cushion cover

Emu cushion cover

Heather from ArabellaBlossoms states when I am in the garden or enjoying a walk in the neighbourhood I enjoy the sight and sound of the birds. We have had some hot days in Melbourne, Australia recently. In fact so hot (mid-30’s in ºCelcius) that we missed the sounds of the birds some days. They must have temporarily found a cooler and shadier place to hide from the sun and heat.

Birds,butterflies and other wildlife apron

Birds,butterflies and other wildlife apron

willowvalleyvintage from WillowValleyVintage discussed that I am a bird lover! We have lots of feeders around the yard and enjoy the songs and activity of many feathered friends. Winters can be brutal in Michigan, so we have a de-icer in the birdbath. On especially cold winter days—Bluebirds come to enjoy the warm water!

Girl and bluebird figurine

Girl and bluebird figurine

Valerie Brown from FirepanJewellery says I am a bird lover, bird watcher, and bird feeder! In my previous career I work in animal welfare, so I am well aware of the sad state of affairs for captive birds. This includes birds in the pet industry and birds in the food industry.

I made this brooch (and her companions) to bring attention to the lives of battery hens who are used and abused in the egg industry. It may seem counter intuitive to make a beautiful piece of jewelry about a subject like this. However, it is different and eye-catching; and I’ve always found that people are more willing to listen about an issue if you approach the subject nicely. You can definitely speak out for the birds with my Hen brooch!

Chicken brooch

Chicken brooch

Heather Youngblood from youngbloodMADE said I did a series of illustrations in October of girls wearing various types of masks. This is my “bird girl” – because who wouldn’t love to be a bird for a day?

Bird girl illustration

Bird girl illustration

Arlene from ThisandThatCrafter discussed that we love hearing the birds in our yard. We don’t have bird feeders in the trees because we have cats but we are having a feeder built on a pole that we will place away from the trees so our cats can not get them.

Classic black and white bird gift tag set

Classic black and white bird gift tag set

Nautico Creations from NauticoCreations says we are bird lovers and are fortunate to have swallows come back to our yard and nest every summer. They make multiple nests underneath our deck and we get to see their babies. It’s a nice close up of nature.

This quilt is a celebration of all animals and includes special rows of birds, butterflies and ladybugs, along with different birds in trees surrounded by the animal kingdom.

Animal print baby quilt

Animal print baby quilt

Lizzy and Boo from LizzysBibsandBobs said I love waking up every morning to the sounds of birds calling out and talking in the trees behind my house! Sometimes I lay in bed wondering what they are talking about.

Blue porcelain bird

Blue porcelain bird

Annie from DesignedbyAnneliese discussed that I love going on bushwalks. Today I went on a walk around a lake and I loved to hear the birds singing.

These are some paper birds I have made that can be used for craft, card making, buntings…

il_570xn-1081796100_9sai

Christmas bird cutouts

Ginny C from GRCTreasures said love birds, for the last two summers I have had house sparrows nest in the wreath on my front door. I get to see the whole nesting, egg laying, hatching and fledgling up close!

Vintage signed Ken Edwards hand bell

Vintage signed Ken Edwards hand bell

spoiledfelines1 from SpoiledFelinesArt states that I love birds … and we have a couple of owl plaques in our shop!

I live in an area that’s rich with birds … and many species migrate through our area …

In fact, every year St. Bernard Parish hosts an annual bird festival in the spring … Artists & artisans, such as ourselves, show their finished works as well as demonstrating their various techniques …

At the bird festival, the LA Audubon Society capture, tag & release birds to gather info on their migration patterns … this is my favorite part of the festival because I get to help release the birds and watch them fly off!

Wooden owl wall art

Wooden owl wall art

Bislet from MerryXmasfromSweden wishes everyone a Happy Bird Day!

My favorite bird is the bullfinch. I even have a bullfinch picture on my mailbox! Bullfinches are extremely shy birds so it can take years until I see them in the garden. On very harsh winter days I might find them at my garden feeders.

Then I am happy for many days!

Did you know that the bullfinch has a special food sac? They have developed special food sacs which are positioned in the floor of the mouth, allowing the parents to bring back food to their chicks.

They are the only species of finch to have such sacs. Amazing birds!

Enjoy my Christmas table cloth showing bullfinches eating rowan berries so that you can admire them!

Vintage Swedish Christmas Table Cloth

Vintage Swedish Christmas Table Cloth

Leave a Reply

