Child’s Play

Contributed by Opal from ApronStringsOwlLady

We’ve all heard the saying.. oh that’s just child’s play! I’ve always believed that children playing and the happy sounds coming from groups of them giggling and having fun is a wonderful sound (may be the former teacher in me coming out a bit).

Also as adults – there are many fun and unique games that take us back to the magical times of our youth.

What items in your shop relate to child’s play? We’d love to hear your comments and see your items.

Lisajoy Sachs from saxdsign says

 Oh My Gosh… Do you remember when you were little and you got into your grandmom’s sewing kit? Speaking about “Child’s play” All those buttons and colorful spools of threads… and what fun it was to be helping grannie do creative things…
Swiss Army Button Vintage Switzerland Military Charcoal Grey Round Cross Rare Issue Loop Sewing DiY Bakelite Purse Repair Projects Unique

Swiss Army Vintage Button

In my shop I have these adorable vintage buttons that appeal to lots of people, crafters, military buffs, and even button collectors. I found them when I was visiting my sister in Switzerland, I always keep an eye out for the unusual and unique supplies for my shop.

 

Melissa R from missy69 says

 My kids and I have done a different kind of Advent calendar every year since I can remember. They are now teens, and we still love to come up with new ideas. This year we did 2, a reverse Advent Calendar, which actually is putting a food item in a box to donate to a family in need on Christmas Eve. The second is more nostalgic. I wood burned, and painted part of Santa, and his beard onto a slice of wood. Then wood burned on 25 circles. Each day we add a cotton ball to a circle, when it is full it is Christmas day. You can use coins, or candy, whatever you like. I hope my children will continue to find joy in doing an Advent Calendar each year.
10 inch Wood Slice Natural Wood with Wood Burned Santa Beard Advent Calendar Made to Order Count Down to Christmas Fun Reusable Kids

Advent Calendar

Walter Silva from WalterSilva says

 I remember just being fascinated by color(s) and playing matching games with the same hue.
Rainbow Wooden Peg Dolls - Modern trendy Toys - Color Learning Toys - Rainbow Peg Doll Family - Stocking Stuffer for Kids

Colorful Wooden Peg Toys

Sue and Misty from shabbyshopgirls says

 When we were kids, we would all sit around the table one night a week and have a family game night! No TV, no computers or internet surfing, just a good fun clean family game night! One of our favorites was Old Maid!
Vintage Old Maid Playing Cards - 1986 Playmore Creative Child - Fun Graphics - Card Names - Professions - Family Game Night - Arts Crafts

Vintage Old Maid

Rheta Parziale from VintageEves says

 I had two loves when I was a kid, reading and cartoons. I still love both! In fact, my daughter caught me watching “Frozen” by myself the other night. Then as a child I found books with cartoons in them and I was truly over the moon. Snoopy was one of my favorite cartoons back in the day. He and his gang are still classics.
Vintage Peanuts Books Featuring Snoopy Set of 2 Books from 1970s by Charles Schulz

Vintage Comics

Mary Steed from MaryJaneCreations says

 I remember making bracelets with school friends. Now I find myself making bracelet kits for children 5 to 8 or older, adults too. More colourful kits and designs to come.
Wish Bracelet Kit, Make Your Own Wish Bracelet, Stocking Filler, Wish Bracelets, Bracelet Kits, DIY Bracelets, Gift for her, Party Gift

Wish bracelet kit

 

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says

 Our ‘Play’ instant download art celebrates what it means to be a kid and how to stay young at heart as you get older. It’s all about interacting with friends and nature, about being spontaneous and making new discoveries. About having the sun in your face and sand in your toes. About screaming loudly into the wind where it doesn’t bother the grown-ups.
Children's Printable Decor, Beach House Wall Art, Play in the sand nursery decor ocean nature print downloadable nautical kid's art 11x14

Printable “Play” download

Susan-Sharon Passmore from MsPDesignsUSA says

 Little boys just love trucks! When my oldest son was small, we had to go outside to the alley every time he heard the garbage truck coming. It was such fun to see them pick up and empty the dumpster!

We have a nice selection of quilt block patterns featuring trucks & construction equipment in our pattern shop. Here’s the garbage truck, just about like the one that we used to enjoy watching:

foundation paper pieced garbage truck or trash truck or dustbin lorry vehicle PDF quilt block pattern; baby boy or kid's quilt block pattern

Quilt Block Pattern

Jerry and Opal from ApronStringsOwlLady says

 I adore all these child play ideas!

Hope everyone is having a good new year so far! My memories of childhood is always playing with my gifts and their wrappings far into the new year – we weren’t a wealthy family and the entire gift was always so special to me, I probably have a vintage bow off something from the 1950s to this day. This doll, owl and tea cup set sparked memories of child’s play, I always included my favorite doll and stuffed animal when playing tea set..

Summertime Chintz Cup & Saucer - 1934 Royal Winton English -Grimwades Rare Antique Royal Winton Cup and Saucer, Antique Tea Cup Party Set

Summertime Chintz Tea set

One thought on “Child’s Play

Leave a Reply

