Natural And Neutral

Contributor post by Alicia from AliciasFindings

Natural and neutral are trending this year in home decor and so much more…
Do you have something that has neutral or natural elements in it?

These could be wood,cement,neutral color palette,stones and more.

Melissa R from missy69 says I love natural items. I love wood, especially. I recently have been teaching myself the art of Pyrography or wood burning. It is a very relaxing art. These wood slices came from a tree that had to be cut down for removal. I hand drew the dragonflies, onto the slices. I don’t use stencils, or tracings. Then I wood burned the image onto the wood, and used glow in the dark paint to add some interest, and color to the pieces.

il_570xn_1054292317_gla2

Set of 4 wood slice coasters-dragonfly coasters

 

Linda Yunker from LazyYCrochet said this hat and scarf set is made using 100% worsted superwashed Merino wool in butternut and chocolate brown. The pattern is an Irish-inspired design that I use in a lot of my scarves and shawls.

The yarn is wonderful to work with it, you almost hate for the project to end. It is wonderful to wear; getting softer with each washing. There is a yarn shop that I have to travel to, Wool & Co. in St. Charles, IL, that stocks this yarn. Mostly I use it for projects that are gifts. But once in awhile, I have used it for some of the Lazy Y’s stock.

I love to crochet and find time daily to do a little or a lot of it. I have a spot on the corner of the couch, all my bags of yarn projects close by. I like to sit just a moment and look at them. What do I feel like completing? Starting? Or moving along in the process. Then I pick it up and start. I really believe that there are health benefits in the crocheting/knitting process. A focus for the brain, calming of the blood pressure and stress of the day, eye/brain coordination, and the contentment of just feeling that great natural yarn and seeing it become a useful, everyday piece or accessory.

As far as neutral? The colors bring forth beauty in subtle ways. The tones are perfect to accessorize and enhance so many colors and winter coats.

il_570xn_764468522_rwxe

Women’s hat and scarf set

Valerie Brown from FirepanJewellery states that brown and tan tones are definitely neutrals, and tiger’s eye is a natural gemstone! My friend Jody made the lovely flamework glass beads, and I was lucky enough to acquire them! I kept them in my ‘stash’ of gemstones and beads until I realized the tiger’s eye went so well with them. They make a nice warm toned necklace.

Brown tones necklace

Brown tones necklace

Pam Colangelo from PearlsVintagebyPam says natural and neutral means Shaker Wood so I am featuring my Peg basket-Amish made. It is Simple and beautiful. I bought it for myself, kept it boxed and never used it or gave it as a gift. Here it is for Etsy. I love supporting Amish people and respect their hard work.

Shaker Peg-hanging basket

Shaker Peg-hanging basket

Connie Lee from Bungalow42 says these dangle earrings feature Cat’s Eye shells with small seashells and coconut beads hand knotted on waxed Irish linen thread in a neutral walnut color.

Cat’s Eye shell is a natural biological curio considered by some to be a magical charm. Because of its unique and eye-like appearance it is thought to be particularly effective in warding off the Evil Eye. I was drawn to them because of the opposite side of the shell which has a lovely spiral.

These earrings are one of a kind as each Cat’s Eye shell is unique.

Cat's eye and shell earrings

Cat’s eye and shell earrings

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns said this necklace features a natural raw stone in a wire wrapped setting. It abounds with neutral tones that only nature can provide! I think the wearer of this necklace would receive great comfort from the feel of this organic object against their skin

Wire wrapped stone pendant

Wire wrapped stone pendant

Robo Mage from WizardsCove discusses the ring is carved from solid and natural peach seed, and oiled with virgin olive oil. peach trees and wood are a symbol of eternal life, fertility and can protect from evil eye. this ring is very simple, natural and delicate.

Wooden engagement ring

Wooden engagement ring

Dawn from DeeDeeSupplies said natural and neutral tones are great because they are so versatile for a wide range of decors and outfits.
This set of wooden barrel beads feature a wood grain texture in neutral tones and are ideal for jewellery designs and wide range of craft projects. They are also perfect for macrame and dread beads.

Wooden barrel beads

Wooden barrel beads

Marie-Antoinknit from 9ElizabethStreet says neutral colors in the mild camel tones of the beads; from nature in the nacre shell chips that are the focal points of these simple, minimalist earrings. They would provide an elegant touch to any look without going too far into glitter & glam. Naturally.

Camel shell drop earrings

Camel shell drop earrings

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

