Write A Friend In December

Contributor post by Catherine of DesignsByCnC

December has been designated as Write A Friend Month, which I find totally appropriate.  With Christmas being in December, it provides a wonderful opportunity to send Christmas letters and cards  to friends and family. I always enjoy sending out my yearly Christmas greetings to say hello, I’m thinking of you.

When I was young I had several boxed stationery sets with coordinating envelopes and a beautiful writing pen.  I was fortunate to have several different pen pals across the USA and also one from Germany.  We would write back and forth each month sharing thoughts and stories about our lives.  Learning about life in different places was very educational.  It was always a thrill for me to go out to the mailbox and discover a letter waiting inside with my name on it.

When separated by distance, a letter in the sender’s own handwriting is more personal than an email.  You can touch and treasure a letter.  It’s kind of like you are holding a little piece of them right there in your hands.

Over the years, I have noticed that letter writing and sending out Christmas cards is on the decline and becoming a lost art.  With the advent of faster communication methods such as emails, texts, and social media, letter writing has become a quaint old-fashioned habit.

Our society has become so fast-paced, and we are so busy with our lives that we often lose touch with friends and family.  During the month of December, I encourage everyone to take a moment and slow down.  Take time to give the greatest gift of all, part of yourself.  Write a letter or send a card to a friend, say hello and catch up on old times.

“We are only given today and never promised tomorrow, so make sure you tell the people who are special in your life you love them.” ~ Unknown

The members of the Etsy Christmas in July Team share their thoughts on letter writing along with an item from their shop that will aid us in crafting the perfect letter.


 

Lauren Vanhemert from BellaBolsaDesigns adds:

I love handwritten letters and have used personal, vintage and even famous love letters in my work. For me, I am saddened on what I view as the lost art of letter writing. Tweets and texts just don’t have the same feel as a handwritten note. I feel so strongly about this I just blogged about it on my own web blog, bellabolsa.com. In any case, here is a custom bag I designed for a 50th anniversary using love letters from the husband to his wife.

il_570xn-1076153968_kav7

Custom Photo Purse


 

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says:

I don’t care what anybody says, I love getting cards and letters in the mailbox and I don’t think I’m alone. In our electronic day and age, hand-written letters are rare and so they become gifts in and of themselves. I still write letters to my best friend, my childhood friend. We have known each other longer than I care to mention, and have lived in the same town, but also far apart. Sure we Skype and Facetime, and text and talk on the phone, but once or twice a year I send out a long letter.

When you receive a hand written letter, it is just for you, it hasn’t been mass-produced or copied and pasted. That someone took the time to do that, it makes you feel so special!

I always wonder, 500 years from now, when technology is probably going to be vastly different from today, will we be able to access all our electronic documents? Will we be able to go back and find records of our lives in emails and so many different types of files? Hand-written letters on actual paper are still a way to preserve our history.

 

il_570xn-1024533270_tb2r

Christmas Writing Paper


 

Richard and Tatiana from DesignstheLimit shares this thought:

The artistic expression of bringing pen to paper, chasing concepts and building constructs, in search of an alluding original thought being lost to the void of eternity beyond reach. Defying singularity with a moment of concrete definition with elusive insight, the pen wielder swaying a tenacious fight. But alas the might that fights a never-ending fight must stop to rest for the night. Then lost to vivid imagination of the abyss, the secret to writing is to write! We can’t wait to read about your flights of fancy!

Make a note to take the time to write just for the pleasure of creation.

il_570xn-567905480_jl3o

Design’s Desktop Memo Holder With Design Options


 

Arlene from ThisandThatCrafter answers:

I have always sent cards… I love sending cards with a special note in them when they are not expected… such as Thinking of You cards. I sent one to a friend once and she called in tears as she was having a hard day and she said the card lifted her spirit and helped her get through the day. I still LOVE hanging Christmas cards around the house. We don’t seem to get as many and I do truly miss them but the few I do get I cherish. Here is a vintage card that is great for sending that card that is special that no one else will be sending.

il_570xn-696494898_kjyu

Vintage Christmas Card Set


 

Sherri from ButterflyFeetDigital replies:

I think there is something special about receiving an actual letter or card in the mail these days. You know someone was really thinking about you if they took the time to do that.

I love printable paper crafts anyway, so when I create a new stationery set I can’t help but think ‘who could I send a letter to?’ Like most people, I don’t get it done very often, but I do believe it’s appreciated.

Lately, I have been creating new abstract art prints – and this stationery set I created with three of my new art prints by adding a transparent overlay and lines to write on.

 

il_570xn-1133104661_x5oo

Printable Abstract Art Stationery

 

Leave a Reply

