Warm Taupe And Dusty Cedar – Pantone Fashion Colors For Fall 2016

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Color trends are a wonderful way to celebrate the seasons!

According to Pantone two of the top colors for Fall 2016 are Warm Taupe and Dusty Cedar.

WARM TAUPE PANTONE 16-1318

PANTONE 16-1318 Warm Taupe is a hearty, pleasing and approachable neutral that pairs well with each of the top 10 shades of the Fall 2016 season.

  • Suggests reassurance and stability
  • Trusted, organic and grounded
  • Departs slightly from the foundations of the Fall 2016 palette
  • Timeless

Leatrice EisemanExecutive Director, Pantone Color Institute

Etsy Christmas In July Pinterest Board Fall 2016 Pantone Color: Warm Taupe

Etsy Christmas In July Pinterest Board
Fall 2016 Pantone Color: Warm Taupe

Members of the Etsy ChristmasInJuly Team have been inspired by the colors Warm Taupe and Dusty Cedar! They have created items in their shops reflecting this inspiration! Here are a few!

GypsyGeneralStore from GypsyGeneralStore says

I love old bottles and lace…when blended together, they tell a story.
Warm Taupe Altered Glass Bottle

Warm Taupe Altered Glass Bottle

Valerie Brown from FirepanJewellery says:

I love color and always await the Pantone annual color report with interest. I also enjoy combining enamel and gemstones together. This year, I designed and made earrings based on the 2016 colors. These earrings are a nice neutral to add to any wardrobe!
FirepanJewellery

FirepanJewellery

Linda Yunker from LazyYCrochet says:

The yarn was a gorgeous, a chunky multi-shaded brown wool blend that I just couldn’t resist. I could just imagine how warm and pretty this yarn would be in one of my hat and scarf sets. So, here it is in all its warm glory.

LazyYCrochet

LazyYCrochet

The simplicity and beauty of nature have always inspired me as an artist and as a human being, and I believe that this baby deer wall art embody those moral values. The baby deer was hand burned onto a bass wood plaque, which was left in its natural state, to show off the beauty of the wood and the wood burning arts.

SpoiledFelinesArt

SpoiledFelinesArt

Sue from ZozannaCeramics says:

Warm Taupe is a gorgeous warm neutral colour. I haven’t looked at the Pantone colours since I worked in graphics years ago. Thanks for re-introducing me. I think this pendant fits.
ZozannaCeramics

ZozannaCeramics

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns says:

Neutral colours are great because they are so versatile, and can, therefore, be called upon in any wardrobe emergency!! And I love rings!

DeeDeeDeesigns

DeeDeeDeesigns

Heather from ArabellaBlossoms says:

I am fond of using neutrals for decor and sewing because they are timeless.

This apron I have designed and made using classic chintz cotton has a background of Warm Taupe that highlights the dainty floral posies. It combines my love of cooking with gardening and nature-even to photographing the apron in the outdoors!

ArabellaBlossoms

ArabellaBlossoms

DUSTY CEDAR PANTONE 18-1630

Like Airy Blue, PANTONE 18-1630 Dusty Cedar gives a nod to the PANTONE Color of the Year 2016, Rose Quartz.

  • A fall and winter version of the Pinks we’re used to seeing in spring
  • Dustier rose-toned Pink shade with some complexity
  • Exudes warmth and welcome

Leatrice EisemanExecutive Director, Pantone Color Institute

Etsy Christmas In July Pinterest Board Fall 2016 Pantone Color: Dusty Cedar

Etsy Christmas In July Pinterest Board
Fall 2016 Pantone Color: Dusty Cedar

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says:

Love this Pantone Color – it seems like a lighter version of Pantone’s Marsala. Still nice and warm and velvety for the fall. I see myself sitting by a fire with a cup of warmth and a bit of chocolate.
StockLaneStudio

StockLaneStudio

Julie Herbert from EveryoneLovesGifts0 says:

Hi everyone-

I have a piece of jewellery with ‘some’ Dusty Cedar in it.

The inspiration for this piece is Morse Code. I see so many Morse Code items that I fell in love straight away and wanted to make my version with pearls and silver beads. Morse Code can have such a meaning to the person buying the item that they can personalise it in anyway they want, the item has great meaning to them and memorable to the person who wears it. Perfect for all occasions and ages.

EveryoneLovesGifts0

EveryoneLovesGifts0

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns says:

This is such a warm comforting colour! This set of salt & pepper dishes are equally comforting when it comes to sharing food with family and friends!

The dishes are a soft dappled dusty cedar & mint green – opposite colours on the colour wheel and a natural outcome of the ceramic firing process!

DeeDeeDeesigns

DeeDeeDeesigns

Tami Wooliver from HannaHerbals says:

This is one of my favorite soaps. I love the splash of dusty warm pink in the whiteness of the soap. The dusty pink was created by using Australian pink clay, which is so good for your skin. It is a castille brine soap, Castille Brine soap has traditionally been made in France. This is not a traditional castille brine, because we did add red clay and french lavender eo to the soap. We use only certified organic oils and salts in this soap.

HannaHerbals

HannaHerbals

Melissa R from missy69 says:

I guess my inspiration for all my jewelry, is that I love jewelry. I started collecting gemstones for a few years, and then taught myself how to set them in castings and semi mounts. The semi mount was purchased from a jewelry supplier, and then I set one of my lovely Rhodolite Garnets into the setting. It is a size 6, and will match all your Dusty Cedar outfits.

missy69

missy69

Lisajoy Sachs from saxdsign says:

There are certainly a lot of natural gemstones out there in this amazing world we live in. Finding a Dusty Cedar colored stone was a challenge but I think I found one in Thulite.

Thulite was first discovered at a place called Sauland in Telemark, Norway in 1820. It is named after the mythical island of Thule in the belief that the island is Norway.

Thulite is also sometimes called rosaline it is an opaque, massive pink manganese-bearing variety of the mineral zoisite. Thulite is often mottled with white calcite and occurs as veins and fracture fillings transecting many types of rock. In mineralogical literature, thulite may sometimes refer to any pink zoisite.

saxdsign

saxdsign

rosenthorn2001 from CrochetArtETC says:

When I saw the Dusty Cedar color featured, I had to share my Fluted White doily in which this color stands out amid a multicolored pattern on white. The unique design was crocheted by me and is one of my favorites. The doily is crafted with size 10 cotton thread into varied texture stitches. It is 14″ Round and the contemporary Dusty Cedar color blended with the other colors in the doily’s palette makes this piece ideal for many decors. Even though creating fiber art is my joy, I especially loved working this stunning color palette into this most interesting pattern design.

CrochetArtETC

CrochetArtETC

One thought on “Warm Taupe And Dusty Cedar – Pantone Fashion Colors For Fall 2016

Leave a Reply

