Member Feature: MGPCreations

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Mallori of MGPCreations, our featured member!

MGPCreations

MGPCreations

Tell us about yourself.       

I’m a 27-year-old mother of a 2-year-old little girl and a wife. Originally from Adelaide, South Australia but recently moved to Melbourne, Victoria for hubby’s work. I love to crochet and learned to crochet from my mother-in-‘love’ about 6 years ago. I also love to sing and have recently joined our new church’s music team. My favourite season would have to be Spring as I love all the flowers that start blooming but also the weather is usually perfect, not too hot and not cold.mgpcreations1

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my Etsy store February 2015 after I had such a positive reaction about the baby blankets I had made for my friends who were having babies. I decided to open an Etsy store as hobby because I crochet to relax and ran out of room to store my creations. I am hoping I can keep being a stay at home mum as I am enjoying it immensely and can’t imagine going back to part-time work and not seeing my daughter as much. My family as well as crocheting are my passions and I would love to have them both as much as possible!mgpcreations2

Tell us a bit about your products.           

All my items I make are made from the heart. I love everything I make as I don’t think I could sell something I wasn’t happy to have myself. I can be very critical on my work and a lot of projects have been started over numerous times before I am happy with them. My products are mainly aimed towards babies, children and women with a range of baby blankets, scarves, mug cosies and boot cuffs. As well as some home decor and nursery decor like floor rugs and bunting. One of my favourite products would have to be my mermaid tail blankets which is something I have always wanted to make!mgpcreations3

What inspires your work?           

I love working with wool because you can get so many different types and colours, I can mix and match all different things and I can be creative with it and think outside of the box. There are so many colours that I would not have pictured working together but have ended up looking great. I enjoy watching it all come together and seeing how the colours and patterns I chose work out.mgpcreations4

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

I hope that my Etsy store can keep growing to allow me to keep being a stay at home mum. This year I hope to grow my stock numbers and expand the products that I offer.mgpcreations5

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

I think my store stands out more than other similar stores because you can get some of what you need for a newborn baby in one place. You can find a blanket, beanie and booties sets, bunting and floor rugs for your baby and nursery without having to look around. I also keep my prices as low as I can to fit every budget.mgpcreations6

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

Thankfully my products can be made almost anywhere so my workspace can change. I mainly work in the lounge room on the couch but I also do some work in the car if we go on a longer trip. I love that I am able to be flexible with where I can work.mgpcreations7

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

One of the biggest things I have learned since opening my store is how important good photography is for your product. First impressions are so important for an online store and it took me about 8 months to realize this.mgpcreations8

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Just go for it. Even if you’re not 100% sure what you are doing just give it a go and you will learn as you go. I am always tweaking and changing things and always learning new things. Joining an Etsy team was the best thing I could have done. They are full of people who have been doing this for a very long time and they are so happy to help and share their knowledge with anyone who needs help.mgpcreations9

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

My daughter takes up a lot of my spare time. She is a bundle of energy and fun (well most days as 2 year olds can be very unpredictable). Crocheting is my main hobby as it relaxes me and I really enjoy the feeling I get when I finish making something.mgpcreations10

Where can people find out more about your business?  

Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/au/shop/MGPCreations
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MGPCreations/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mgpcreations/

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

