Thanksgiving And Holiday Feasts

Contributor Post by Sheila and Shannon of BeadyEyedBird 

We asked our teamies what they like to do around the November holidays such as Thanksgiving or Remembrance Day, All Souls Day, Native American Heritage days, or their own special traditions, especially FEASTS. Here’s what they told us —

Susan-Sharon Passmore from MsPDesignsUSA said:

 Thanksgiving just might be my favorite holiday! Our extended family gathers at my house, and we feast on roasted turkey with all sorts of delicious side dishes. I love to make pumpkin and pecan pies for dessert, and my sister usually brings fresh-baked rolls. After dinner, we might play games at the kitchen table or take a walk to the park to stretch our legs, let the kids play at the playground, and throw the ball for our dog.

This cute turkey applique would be perfect for a kitchen towel or a set of hot pads. I probably have time to make some for myself before the big day!

turkey

Turkey gobbler PDF applique pattern; Thanksgiving bird applique quilt pattern; farm animal quilt; baby or child’s quilt pattern

pam colangelo from PearlsVintagebyPam said:

Thanksgiving Time Holds Lots of Memories both Good and Not so Good. In the Past we had the Thanksgiving Meal at our House, Even when we were newly Married-1970’s. My Husband had the job of Carving the Turkey Which by the Way was Cooked Perfectly in a Paper Bag per a Nurse I worked with. Unfortunately We Used to Have a Fight Over how the Turkey was Carved in those Early Married Days. Sorry to my Husband!!

I no Longer Cook the Turkey and my Husband No Longer Carves it. Here’s our Turkey.

clay-turkey

Turkey Figure-Pottery-Detailed Decoration-10 In. Wide-Thanksgiving-Centerpiece-Made in Phillippines-Unique-Clay-Art-Holiday-Décor

Melissa R from missy69 said:

Thanksgiving is my husband’s favorite holiday, and of course it includes turkey. This beautiful turkey painting, is an original painting, affixed to a large reclaimed glass pickle jar, then upcycled into a hurricane lamp, vase, candle holder, cookie jar etc. It makes a great table decoration, and being green is in this year. This handsome Tom Turkey is hoping you will change your mind and eat lasagna.

tom-turkey-2

Reclaimed Large Glass Pickle Jar Upcycled into A Hurricane Lamp with Painted Tom Turkey Thanksgiving Home Decor Table Lighting Vase Cookie

Kelly from ColourscapeStudios said:

Thanksgiving isn’t something celebrated here in Australia, however I had a lovely lady from Kentucky contact me to purchase my longer thank you tags so that she could wrap them around her napkins which I thought was a lovely touch for her friends and family.

 

thank-you

10% Off Christmas Sale Thank You Gift Tag, Rectangle Gift Tag, Small Gift Tag, Wedding Tag, Party Gift Tag, Kraft Gift Tag, Slim Gift Tag, M

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns said:

Being in Australia we actually don’t have any of these holidays, however, here, as the weather warms, family and friend get togethers become more frequent as people venture outdoors!

So there is a celebration of the change of season – just as you guys celebrate your holidays – and to celebrate there is lots of sharing of food and drink!

And for me celebrating the sharing of food is made all the more special with handmade table wares – so this bowl is perfect!

green

Ceramic Bowl for Salad and Fruit Textured Green Stoneware Unique Handmade Pottery Home Décor

willowvalleyvintage from WillowValleyVintage said:

I’m fortunate that my husband has taken over all the cooking on Thanksgiving day!

He has the preparation down to a science–and follows a timeline to ensure that everything is ready to serve at the appropriate hour!

My daughter and I found this fun trivet on a buying trip to Shipshewana, Indiana. We like the retro illustrations and instructions for “Meat Cookery.”

I can imagine a new bride receiving this from her mother-in-law in the 50s or 60s!

trivet

Metal Trivet Wife and Husband Kitschy Art Pro-Tex Retro “Table of Meat Cookery” 50s Kitchen Midwestern Life Insurance Advertising Decor Gift

Carola Bartz from CarolaBartz said:

I grew up in Germany and only came to the States when I was over 40 years old. So Thanksgiving is not really a tradition for me. However, we embraced it because I like the gratitude part of it. Around the end of November when the days are shorter, it’s getting considerably colder and the days are often grey, I like to curl up on the couch with a journal and take a look back over the year, writing down everything that I am thankful for. It is such a treat to read later what I was thankful for in the previous years and I see how rich my life is.

leaves

Autumn Leaves Journal with Matching Bookmark, Handmade Notebook in Fall Colors, Altered Composition Book with Lined Pages

Heather from ArabellaBlossoms said:

Although we don’t officially celebrate Thanksgiving Day here in Australia, like many around the world, cooking for family and friends is often a way to show we are thankful for their love, friendship and support.

apron

Handmade Pink White Green Apron, Medium Size Vintage Cotton Gingham, Vintage Doily and Lace , Full Apron with Pocket, Women’s Gift Idea

Many thanks to everyone who shared their wonderful memories and items with us. Happy holidays and celebrations and FEASTS to All!

Until Next Time,

Sheila

 

 

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving And Holiday Feasts

  1. Great items! Thanks for featuring our turkey applique pattern. By the way, the turkey hot pads turned out great! We’re looking forward to the celebration.

    Sharon
    Ms P Designs USA

    Like

Leave a Reply

