Member Feature: PamsPawsJewelry

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Pam of PamsPawsJewelry, our featured member!

PamsPawsJewelry

PamsPawsJewelry

Tell us about yourself.

I work in Healthcare caring for Seniors at home right now through an agency. Before the Recession hit I was in the Biotech industry in Quality Assurance and 2 Microbiology Labs.

I have always wanted to be more creative and have my own business! It is fun to learn and try new things which keeps me young!

I love helping others and adore animals of all kinds! I have 2 cats right now, Moses and Mirri, who model items in my shop sometimes!

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I first started my shop in 2011 but did not know about teams and promoting so closed it.

I decided to really give it a go again in 2014 and have learned a lot!

Basically, the economy and wanting to work less and have financial help made me start it. I also wanted to have more time to be creative and make a lot of different items so started with handmade jewelry.

Tell us a bit about your products.

I love jewelry and so started to try to make quality, lasting jewelry from Sterling Silver, Gold Vermeil, and many different types of semi-precious gemstone beads.

After a while for variety, I added Vintage items to my shop. I try to find unique products which are in very good to excellent condition. I enjoy finding pretty items to save and that I hope will find good homes to be appreciated in again!

Then, I branched out a bit more with some handmade and hand sewn fabric items such as table runners.

I hope to also add other handmade items, especially some blankies and toys for pets!ppj1

What inspires your work?

A lot of my work is inspired by nature and natural things from the Earth!

I love the many gemstones that are found all over the world, genuine and real materials, and real metals such as Silver, Gold, Copper, Brass, and some Pewter, etc.

I also like other items that are either made from natural sources or depict nature, such as wood, ceramic, hand painted products, nature, animal, or botanical themed items!

It’s also enjoyable to be creative with my item photos with which I like to add flowers, stones, shells, and other natural props to enhance the pictures of my items.

This way, I believe, it gives shoppers a fun and enjoyable experience when they visit my shop, as if they were walking into a pretty and unique boutique!

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

My dream is for the shop to grow and get sales each day like a regular business!

I also have goals to branch out with craft fairs and selling on other sites using my same brand name.

The real dream is to be able to be self-sufficient and not depend on companies for work.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

There are many jewelry businesses and I enjoy seeing what others make. Someone always makes or sells something that you either cannot make yourself or would not be able to find elsewhere.

So, I think my shop and others all have something unique for shoppers.

I try to make unique, quality jewelry and hope that it will stand out depending on what someone likes or is looking for!ppj2

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

No, I have a small apartment with limited space and mostly work from my table in living room where my computer is.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I wish I had known that there is so much time involved with trying to sell online.

Also, I wish I had branched out from the beginning with different ways of trying to sell as it is very difficult to sell on any sites.

I have learned, too, that I must organize my time better and be sure to balance the promoting with time to learn new things, but most of all making time for being creative which is really what I want to do the most!

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

You really have to think about selling  on more than just one site and finding all about this perhaps before jumping into it. There is a lot to learn and the promoting takes up most of the time.

On Etsy you really have to join a few teams to get advice, learn about Etsy and how things are done, and also get others to help you promote.

The best thing about Etsy is all of the nice people I have met on my teams from all around my country and the world!

It is important to be an honest and supportive person on Etsy and also in general if you wish to have a successful business as it takes a while for people to know that you are trustworthy!ppj3

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I used to but working and having my business takes up most of my time.

But, I like reading, walking, animals, nature, horseback riding, swimming, and being with friends hanging out, going out to eat, taking trips, watching movies, going to many different attractions such as museums, etc.

I love things that younger people like and enjoy people of all ages!

What is your favorite quote?

I love many and cannot think of one in particular.

Where can people find out more about your business?

Wanelo: pammaggio

Pinterest: maggio0847

Twitter: Critter249

Facebook: PamsPawsJewelry is a work in progress

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

I try to get back to every customer and provide friendly, and the best customer service I can.

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

3 thoughts on “Member Feature: PamsPawsJewelry

  1. I loved reading about you, your cats and your business, Pam. You make beautiful jewelry! So happy you were featured on the #EtsyCIJ blog today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

