Opal Opulence

Contributor post by Sheila of BeadyEyedBird

You know that gorgeous, translucent, milky-colored stone filled with the light of a thousand colorful stars, shimmering like the aurora borealis? Opal, that is! We love it, and we know many of you do too. We asked what our CIJ Teamies what they might have/sell with opals or something similarly magnificent — and to tell us the story behind it.  Here’s what they said.

Linda from LazyYVintage said:

I went to the Kane County Flea Market yesterday, and Jim says I must of picked up every piece of glass opalescent that I saw. In my head, I think, look how beautiful. My sons call it my “squirrel moment.” You know the movie, UP? The dog is talking and then suddenly goes, “squirrel” losing his focus and chasing the squirrel.

This is a piece of blue opalescent from Northwoods. Made in America Northwoods was founded by Harry Northwoods in PA in the early 1900s. I can never pass this ice blue color up without admiring it.

I’m a fan of Mr. Northwoods. His colors are amazing and his designs are unique and beautiful.

blue-dish

Northwoods Beaded Drapes Blue Opalescent Dish

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns said:

This set of six handmade ceramic dishes are glazed in a gorgeous luscious opalescent glaze and are ideal for the wedding table – for condiments, candles or as wedding favours.

white-plates

Ceramic Condiment Dishes Cream White Handmade Ring Dish Candle Holder Trinket Set of Six Wedding Décor

pam colangelo from PearlsVintagebyPam said:

This is Mother of Pearl yet it has an Opalescent Look. It is a great pin to Honor MOTHER. I opened my Etsy Shop in my Deceased Mother Pearl’s Name hence pearlsvintagebypam. I am hoping people will buy things to Honor Their Mother. Sometimes we just don’t know what to give our Moms.

heart

Mother Pin & Locket-Goldtone Mother of Pearl Brooch-Floral Heart Locket-Great Jewelry Gift for Mother-Vtg 40’s Pin-Estate Find-HOLIDAY SALE

willowvalleyvintage from WillowValleyVintage said:

I was drawn to the delicate design of this brooch! It took a little detective work, and the confirmation from another Etsy Shop owner, to identify the beads—they are Peking Glass.

gold-pin

Gold Filigree Pin with Blue Peking Glass Beads Forget-Me-Not Flowers on Ribbon Vintage Romantic Victorian Jewelry Keepsake Gift

Maryann from gojjell said:

Love, love, love opals! Their inherent dreamy colours always amaze me. I like to use man- made glass opals in my jewewllery designs and my latest earrings feature just the thing!

earrings

Hoop earrings. Blue glass opal art deco style earrings.

 

Many thanks to all who contributed! Lovely items!

Until Next Time,

Sheila

2 thoughts on “Opal Opulence

Leave a Reply

