Member Feature: Saxdsign

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Lisajoy of Saxdsign, our featured member!

Saxdsign

saxdsign

Tell us about yourself.

Ah! About me? Yes, I am a maker of things, a lover of life! Since I was a small child I loved everything nature oriented, especially Rocks. Rocks are what make up the earth, yes? The rocks ended up in my pockets, in my bags, in my drawers and eventually in my life. As a maker of things I learned how to paint, sculpt, blow glass, make glass beads, make jewelry, and many other things. I have a formal Education with a BFA in Glass blowing from Alfred University in NY where I studied under Stephen Dee Edwards, and an MFA in Sculpture with a concentration in Glass from CUNY Queens College where I studied under Maureen Connor.1-with-rock

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

Sachs Design Inc. was formed many years ago when I sold my first painted Tee Shirt with my sister Tracie when we were in High School. As far as my Etsy Shop… I opened in 2010 with the suggestion from Tracie who said to me one day, “You should open an Etsy shop” and the rest was history. Thank you Tracie.2-sister

Tell us a bit about your products.

It is my pleasure to offer this wonderful bounty of earthen treasures to the world. I search high and low for the best quality and most rare gemstones for my clients. Basically, I am a gem dealer, but I really sell pretty rocks for a living. And I LOVE it, every minute of it! It is very important for me to be able to offer great client services to help other designers get exactly what they are searching for. I have recently started selling my own jewelry designs with unique gemstones to new clients in an effort to expand my brand.3-tourm

What inspires your work?

The development of new relationships with my clients and vendors would be one of the most inspiring things about what I do. The relationships I have built with the people I have met over the last 20+ years has been so exciting and rewarding, they have all touched my heart in some way. Their stories of why they do what they do, and how they got where they are such an inspiration for me. It just makes me strive to achieve all my goals and aspirations, and make them proud of why I do what I do.4-meeting-vendors

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

This year I have planned a brand new line of jewelry using some of the gemstones I cut myself. This way I will be able to offer the finished items to my clients that don’t make jewelry themselves. This is a new opportunity for me to help people find that “something special” they have always wanted. Dreams are very important, but they are dreams yet. Until a Dream becomes a goal it is really still a dream, so I usually stick to achieving goals, and leave dreams to what happens when I sleep. So, some of my goals this year are to improve communication with my most loyal clients, offer more custom options for my new clients, and make the overall experience to all my clients an easy and happy experience for them and have fun doing it.5-ring

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

My “Why”, is what makes me stand out. My reason for doing why I do what I do, is to help people to be able to achieve what they want to do, by offering a unique experience that they wouldn’t be able to get elsewhere. Using my ability to inspire other artists to keep on making art by helping them find exactly what they are looking for is another thing that sets Saxdsign apart from my competition. It is pretty simple I am here for them, they get me, and my personal touch to help them.6-screen-shot

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

My studio is lovely! It is one of my most favorite places to go. It is the place where I make things happen. As a maker of things I have been able to surround myself with the tools and machinery that I need to create my lovely gemstones and jewelry. Everything I need is right here at my fingertips.7-studio

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

How incredibly rewarding it has been to see what people make with my gemstones.  It is an over-joyous experience for me to see how happy my clients are once they make the lovely pieces they make.

Photo credit Gaia’s Candy on Etsy.gaias-candy

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Jump on in! Don’t give up, and stay focused. It can be very rewarding and exciting to be helping people find that “something special” especially if you made it!9-me-with-rock

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

Beekeeping is one of my most favorite hobbies. It helps the planet, and the girls reward us with sweet, sweet honey. I also like hunting for fossils at the beach in the fall, cooking, fermenting, fishing and cycling too!10-beekeep

What is your favorite quote?

No friendship is an accident.

Me and my best friend Jodie Aragona of Aragona Designs11-menjod

Where can people find out more about your business?

People can follow me on:

Etsy: Saxdsign

Facebook: Saxdsign

Pinterest: Saxdsign

Twitter: Saxdsign

Instagram: Saxdsign

Etsy Trade Team: EtsyTradeTeam

Website: sachsdesign.com12-sd-new-logo-tiny

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Surround yourself with people you love.

Do things you love to do.

It is okay to be afraid, this is something we can overcome.

Remember we can do anything we want.

The first step is the hardest.
You never know what you’ll reel in…..13-fish

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

3 thoughts on “Member Feature: Saxdsign

Leave a Reply

