Play It By Ear

Contributor post by Alicia from AliciasFindings

Earrings are such a fun way to dress up any outfit! You can have so many styles-stud, dangle, drop, chandelier, threader and so many more.

Here at Christmas in July we want you to show us one of your earrings and tell us a bit about the type of earring, what makes it special and so on.

Valerie Brown from FirepanJewellery says I make earrings from a variety of materials, but one of my favorites is using enamel to give a pop of color! I do traditional kiln fired enameling, which is using a (very) hot kiln to fuse powdered glass onto metal. One of the fun aspects of this technique, for me, is that you can’t control the process completely. All sorts of wonderful surprises come out of the kiln! These earrings are part of my “Colors of white” line. Of course, white light is made up of many different colors, so there are many to choose from!

il_570xn-547741928_q3xg

Colors of white Enamel earrings

Connie Lee from Bungalow42 said one of my favorite pairs of earrings, purchased years ago before I ever dreamed of making jewelry were made from shells. I found them while on vacation in Mexico on Isla Mujeres, an island off the Yucatán Peninsula coast. It is the memory of these long-lost earrings that inspires my shell earring designs.

One of my initial goals for my jewelry was to work with unique materials. Given the unique nature of the patterns and color variations in shells no two earrings are identical which I think is part of their charm. The shells sway gracefully and make a sweet sound that is so faint only the wearer gets to hear its whisper.

These coral and white shell earrings are a combination of several different shell varieties. Nautilus cone shells in a coral spotted pattern, peachy conical top shells, white natural Nassau shells and small strawberry conch shell rounds create a lovely coral and peachy-white palate.

I hand tie the seashells that I use to make my shell earrings to waxed Irish linen thread in an array of colors. For these earrings I chose a dark rust color to create a contrast to the lighter coral, peach and white colors in the shells. Each shell is spaced expressly to mirror the opposite earring.

il_570xN.774636554_l4s9.jpg

Coral and white shell earrings

Julie Herbert from EveryoneLovesGiftsO states one of my favourite earrings are made by resin. Each earring I make with resin is different but these have beautiful purple glitter in them for extra sparkle, especially in day light. There are four shapes to choose from, flowers, circles, square and love heart.
Each earring can have a different meaning to the wearer. With the glitter although great for the day they can also be incorporated into night wear.
The other special thing about these earring are you don’t just have to have purple, you can choose from a range of different colored glitters to make it even more personal.

il_570xN.1024433430_chop.jpg

Purple glitter resin earrings

Nancy Duncan from EponasCrystals discusses that she  loves dangle earrings. I guess it’s because my hair is long and I must have something of substance or you can’t see them. These unique earrings from my shop combine two of my favorite colors, turquoise and golden tones. Tiny cathedral windows with a verdigris wash, feather charms (another favorite), and small brass and gemstone beads.

il_570xn-1006442417_9mxu

Cathedral window earrings

Melissa R from missy69 says I don’t make a ton of earrings, but I have been trying to convince myself to do more. I am a ring, and bracelet kind of girl, but all the ladies know earrings make your outfit. I love dangle earrings, the most. Flirty, fun, and feminine is what I call dangles. This pair was made with neutral colors for Fall outfits. Perfect for professional wear, or a fun night out.

il_570xN.1033613852_8c7l.jpg

Brown and white glass dangle earrings

Heather Barber from MooseintheMint states I like to make fun novelty earrings, so they are often a mixture of Lego bricks, games pieces and other bits and pieces.
These are made from Lego plates and vintage buttons to give a slight retro look.

il_570xN.760184525_1q32.jpg

Button and plate dangle earrings, upcycled lego part earrings

Pam Maggio from PamPawsJewelry says these earrings are in a rose color which is trending this year.

They are made from Rose Quartz and Rhodochrosite semi-precious gemstone beads and all Sterling Silver.

They are fancy so would be great for evenings out, festivals, weddings, or as shower or bridal gifts!

The cute flower ear wires give them a Woodland or Boho touch!

Pink and Rose fancy Drop Earrings

Pink and Rose fancy Drop Earrings

Lizzy and Boo from LizzysBibsandBobs states I adore these beautiful clear rhinestone clip on earrings from the 1950’s. These sparkly little crescents have an Art Deco feel, and would add a bit of vintage bling to any outfit!

Vintage Gold and Rhinestone crescent shaped clip on earrings

Vintage Gold and Rhinestone crescent-shaped clip on earrings

2 thoughts on “Play It By Ear

Leave a Reply

