Bohemian Style

Contributor post by Sheila of BeadyEyedBird

Bohemian, Gypsy, Boho, Ethnic, Hippie — whatever you choose to call it, it’s FUN!

In modern usage, the term “Bohemian” is applied to people who live unconventional, usually artistic, lives. The original “Bohemians” were travelers or refugees from central Europe (hence, the French bohémien, for “gypsy”).

At the beginning of the Bohemian ‘movement’, it was said that gypsy girls themselves “… are sexy and delightful precisely because they do not give a hoot for fashion.”

When the style was first identified, it was the early 20th century. Fast forward to the 60’s & 70’s when major designers started to routinely promote the “peasant look” and selling a range of “uniquely eccentric clothes”. (How many of you still have some of those in the back of your closet, like me??)

Fast forward again to the late 1980s, when variants of the short and fundamentally un-Bohemian rah-rah skirt (which originated with cheerleaders) were combined with leather or denim to create a look with some Bohemian or even gothic features. New names emerged, like ‘hippie chic’ and ‘boho-chic’. Similar styles were sometimes referred to as “bobo” or “ashcan chic” or “luxe grunge” — with leading proponents including actresses Mary-Kate Olsen and Zooey Deschanel.

Whatever it’s called, and whatever the iteration/era, we L.O.V.E. it. We asked our CIJ teamies to tell us their stories about their favorite ‘boho’ style (or its cousin) — and share an item from their shop that represents it. Here’s the cool stuff we got.

Robyn Campbell from RobynFayeDesigns says:

 To me, bohemian means freedom or freestyle, lots of colour and textures. I would love to have my own little caravan and travel like a gypsy following the warm weather. When I was 18 I lived with my boyfriend in a transit van for two months then graduated to a small caravan and traveled up and down the east coast of Australia for 6 months. It was fun but difficult to get work with no fixed address.  Maybe when we retire I can convince hubby to travel! Until then I’ll stick to making caravan coasters and dreaming!
Gypsy caravan coasters, funky mug rugs, floral colourful coasters, retirement gift, house warming gift, boho decor, boho gift

Gypsy Caravan Coasters

 

Arlene from ThisandThatCrafter says:

 I was pretty young during the 60’s but did love the hippy flower power style… still have a side of me that loves the flowers from the 60’s.  Here is a ribbon I carry in my shop that reminds me of the hippy flower power days…
Flower Print Wire Ribbon... 1.5" X 12 Feet

Flower print wire ribbon

 

Annie from DesignedbyAnneliese says:

When I hear the term Boho I think of bright colours, funky patterns and flowers! I especially love flowers and i love the idea of wearing flowers in one’s hair!
I made these flower cards using boho paper.
Bohemian card set, stationery set, card box, gift cards, mini cards, flower cards, boho style, gift idea, graphic 45

Bohemian card set

 

Nancy Duncan  from EponasCrystals says:

When I was growing up in the seventies, it was all about bell bottoms and peace signs, beaded necklace, clog shoes, and wild head bands. We called it hippie, but now it’s “hippie-chic”. Here is my modern version of the “hippie chic” style.
Peace - Turquoise Leather Necklace Bohemian Tribal Jewelry

Peace Turquoise Leather Necklace- Bohemian Tribal

 

GypsyGeneralStore from GypsyGeneralStore says:

 I was an “oops” in my family; born several years after my older sisters. I was the recipient of all of their “hand me downs” – from clothes to record albums… when everyone else was listening to New Kids on the Block, I was rocking out to Led Zeppelin and the Doors. To this day, I have a deep appreciation for old things – passed down from generation to generation and I think it’s largely due to my “hand me down” childhood experience. I love anything with a story…

 

Sugar Skulls Day of the Dead Christmas Dia de los Muertos tart tin set of 3 mexico skull altered art ornament exchange boho mexican decor

Sugar skulls Day of the Dead tart tins set

thedelhistore from theDelhiStore says:

For me Boho means free-spirited. I consider myself one and am proud to raise my daughter who is 12 years old as a free-spirited young soul. We both love to dress up in bright colors.

Boho Gypsy Tribal Kutchi hand embroidered fabric

Boho Gypsy Tribal Kutchi hand embroidered fabric

We had lots of fun with this one, and we appreciate everyone who contributed!

Until Next Time,
Sheila
Leave a Reply

