DonBiuSilver – #CIJJewelryTrunkShow

Contributor post by Opal of ApronStringsOwlLady

Virtual Jewelry Trunk Show – Katrina Beck from DonBiuSilver

DonBiuSilver

1. Please introduce yourself! What is the name of your shop? What city and country do you live in?

Hello lovelies! My name is Katrina Beck, I’m a former model and wholesale rep from Vancouver, Canada. My life, family and studio are not in beautiful Bali where I feel like a mermaid everyday

2. Tell us the story of your work – what inspires you?

My husband is from the royal family of Bali and here ancient silversmithing techniques can still be found! Together with my two month old daughter and two other silversmiths we live in a beautiful commune by the sea. Our land is surrounded by huge banana trees and Don Biu actually means banana tree in Balinese. We love keeping ethnic traditions alive whilst blending them with our own unique sense of trends and style.

Here’s one of our designs:D

3. What is your creative process?

I meditate in a grass hut on our property before pulling out my sketchbook to draw our original designs. I find the place my head is in during this time best captures my imagination.

4. Where do your materials come from?

Our materials are ethically sourced from very few trusted distributors whom know my husband and I personally.

5. Do you take custom orders? 

Yes we offer free engraving and customization’s on every design. I would say that’s where over 30% of our business comes from.

6. What do you want us to know about you that is unique and innovative?

Every morning our studio goes through a spiritual cleansing. Offerings made by hand from woven palm leaves and flowers with rice are placed around our sources of water as well as air, the land  spirit and fire ( <- which is every table since we use fire to make jewelry) , one is also placed in the direction of the sea. A burning incense is placed on top of each and then droplets of holy water from Volcano Besaki and sprinkled on top. This process is essential to the was we create as is the energies of the studio.

Intro to Silver-smithing Video:

7. What are your social media sites?

Facebook: DonBiu
Instagram: DonBiu
Pinterest: DonBiu

Leave a Reply

