TreasuresFromTheLake – #CIJJewelryTrunkShow

Contributor post by Sheila of BeadyEyedBird

Virtual Jewelry Trunk Show – Donna from TreasuresFromTheLake

1. Please introduce yourself! What is the name of your shop? What city and country do you live in?

My name is Donna and welcome to my shop TreasuresFromTheLake in Mentor, OH USA.

2. Tell us the story of your work – what inspires you?

I have collected sea shells for my entire life from our vacations in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. About 4 years ago, began collecting beach glass, pottery, driftwood from my husband and my walks along the beach in Ohio. One day a few years ago he said “why don’t you start making something out of this stuff”. So Treasures From the Lake Began.

3. What is your creative process?

I have self-taught myself wire wrapping, so all my designs are unique and one of a kind. Sometimes I have a design in mind, and other times it just kind of happens. It is different with every piece.

4. Where do your materials come from?

Beach glass, pottery, come from what we find on our beach walks along Lake Erie. Seashells come from Florida. So I am at the mercy of Mother Nature for most of my inventory. Wire, charms, beads to enhance and finish the pieces come from various craft stores.

5. Do you take custom orders?

Yes I love to take custom orders. They are most gratifying. One of the custom orders I did this year was a piece of beach glass a couple found on a beach walk. They had known each other for most of their life, drifted apart and led separate lives and just recently began seeing each other. On a date to the beach they found a piece of white beach glass. I love the similarity of them drifting apart, and the piece drifting along the waves for decades. I designed a lovely necklace for her to treasure always.

Below is a work in progress; I’m not sure if this is the chain I prefer on it, and I haven’t decided if I’m adding charms.

beach glass 2

 6. What do you want us to know about you that is unique and innovative?

I have self-taught myself to wirewrap beach glass which is the way most of my designs are made. Just recently have begun to learn to drill glass that will expand my design opportunities.

7. What are your social media sites?

Facebook: Treasures From The Lake

Leave a Reply

