QuiddityGifts – #CIJJewelryTrunkShow

Contributor post by Dawn from DeeDeeDeesigns

Virtual Jewelry Trunk Show – Anisa from  QuiddityGifts

QuiddityGifts

QuiddityGifts

1. Please introduce yourself! What is the name of your shop? What city and country do you live in?

Hiya!

Anisa here…the creative magic behind QuiddityGifts, an online handmade jewellery shop with my studio based in Wistaston, Cheshire, England. Mustn’t forget my miniature dachshund Maya…lap warmer and model for the QuiddityGifts’ logo!

2. Tell us the story of your work – what inspires you?

This is a hard question as I’m inspired by everything!

My passion for jewellery was born from my love of travelling as jewellery souvenirs are small, lightweight, and guaranteed to remind me of trips with family, friends, or even solo adventures. My goal is to make jewellery that holds special memories for those who wear it.

I’m lucky to have lived all over the world, so I’ve been influenced by Arabic architecture, bright colours of Mexican traditional clothing, abstract images of nature from Native Canadian tribes, and the nature of the English countryside.

My bestselling line of Morse Code jewellery was inspired by the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa, Canada. It is a striking building with the outside covered in Morse Code. It reminded me of passing secret messages on notes in school and I love the idea of wearing messages hidden in jewellery. It brings out the kid in me, I guess!

3. What is your creative process?

My first lines of motivational jewellery started with the feeling that I wanted people to have when they wore it, and I worked backwards from that.

People may say that I’m a wee bit messy…I have a tendency of starting lots of projects at once and maybe not finishing them until weeks later when I’ve finally tracked down the perfect bead or charm.

4. Where do your materials come from?

I use a variety of different materials, most of which are sourced locally in England; however, some of my beads have come from markets in South America and Spain.

My most prized material is the vintage lace made by my great-grandmother which I use to texture paper-clay pendants for extra-special 1st anniversary gifts.

Although the wood used in my pendants is sustain-ably grown, plans for future projects include recycling and up cycling metals and woods to create more environmentally friendly collections.

5. Do you take custom orders?

The definition of “Quiddity” is the essence of what makes someone or something unique, the ‘je ne sais quoi’ that makes it special. I chose this as the name for my business as I believe that giving a handmade gift that has been created as a custom, personalized, or one-of-a-kind piece turns it into a treasured possession.

Most of my sales are custom orders, and I especially enjoy working with clients to create something that is personal and unique to them. I love wedding jewellery…but anniversary gifts are my favourite!

6. What do you want us to know about you that is unique and innovative?

Quiddity Gifts was created after an unexpected change in my life caused me to end a 13 year long career in education, and my initial focus was on motivational pieces to remind me that “every cloud has a silver lining” and I should “turn over a new leaf”. You might be able to tell…I was an English teacher and love my idioms!

7. What are your social media sites?

Etsy: www.QuiddityGifts.etsy.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/QuiddityGifts

Instagram: www.instagram.com/QuiddityGifts

Twitter: www.twitter.com/QuiddityGifts

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/QuiddityGifts

Blog: www.QuiddityGifts.wordpress.com

Website: www.QuiddityGifts.co.uk

Leave a Reply

