Member Feature: Ceraminic

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Ildi of Ceraminic, our featured member!

Ceraminic

Ceraminic

Tell us about yourself.

I’m Ildi, a psychotherapist and an economist, mother of 2 girls and a ceramic lover from the Netherlands. I like to see our world in a creative way and I am very interested in most of the things that have to do with crafts. As many other girls, I learned knitting at a young age, then I started sewing clothes for my dolls, made cross stitches, tried decoupage techniques, glass and silk painting and at last started pottery.
I’m together with my younger daughter on the picture, she helps me as a model very often.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

5 years ago I was one of the Etsy customers. I bought many supplies and made DIY items. I loved the sites and I started to dream about my own shop and one day I just did it.

Tell us a bit about your products.

I really enjoy the process of making pottery: I sit down at a table with a clay and try to make something that I have an imagination of. I want something and the clay wants something but in the end I can work until I am most satisfied with the outcome. For me, the best part is after the first kiln firing when I can paint with bright, shiny colors and decorate in different ways. I love the tiny details and mix the traditional line with the modern.

Most of my customer ask something different and I’m happy to make their custom dishes, I’m happy to give them a unique item.DSCN6778a

What inspires your work?

I always looking for new trends, colorful items, beautiful motifs. When I work, I have many ideas and make them. When  I go to a creative shop, I buy tons of supplies. I always have more idea than time to realized them.DSCN6884a

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

I need to reorganize my shop, cancel some old design and making powerful new items . Both are very hard task, I’m emotional with my plates and design.

I would like to be present in more places, retail shops and online websites.DSCN6767a

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

This is really hard, every year more and more competitors. I have to be flexible and figure out new things, new technique, new photo, new color, better presentation, be present in Social Medias etc.DSCN6746a

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I’m working at home in a tiny room.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

Etsy is changing all the time, sellers have to be very flexible and  respond very quickly. This is a never-ending business. If you have a gorgeous product line, it is good but not enough. If I sell a lot in January, no warranty March will be as same good!DSCN6648b

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

If you are a professional or you would like to be, let’s start it.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I really love walking in the nature or biking near to the ocean. I love to be with my family. Sitting in the garden with a good book always a fantastic program. I’m the fun of Bollywood! What is the top of my pyramid is the TRAVELLING. I love to see different culture, talk with local people, visit museums, try the food specialties etc.IMG_1768-1

What is your favorite quote?

I think I really like this one:

Courtesy Pinterest

Courtesy Pinterest

Where can people find out more about your business?

My ceramics are here: Ceraminic

Ceraminic

Ceraminic

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

2 thoughts on “Member Feature: Ceraminic

Leave a Reply

