Member Feature: thedoggiehouse

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Sylvette of thedoggiehouse, our featured member!

thedoggiehouse

thedoggiehouse

Tell us about yourself.

Hola, my name is Sylvette Marie I live in the Island of Puerto Rico, I’m 33 years old and I am studying Medical Imaging, X-ray and Mammography. I also have a BA in Administration. Right now I am living life with my husband and my three dogs; Brighette Marie, Mr. Blackly and Melody.

I’m also the founder of the Puerto Rico Etsy Team. I opened the Team on November 8, 2010 and the universe is so unique on that same day is where the X-ray was discovered by Wilhelm Rontgen. So I celebrate twice!

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my Etsy shop call The Doggie House in 2009.

I was taking care my Grandmother Rose and in the mean time I sew for my dogs and decide to make it a hobby. I also make donations to shelters from my Island when I sold an item I have a list on my blog from all the shelters that I help. I do enjoy sewing for dogs.

Tell us a bit about your products.

My products are very simple they are webbing sew on ribbons with plastic buckle and metal clips for the leashes and  a Dring for the ID Tag.thedoggiehouse

What inspires your work?

My inspiration comes from my dogs. Brighette Marie is my baby I don’t have kids so she is my muse she is the inspiration for The Doggie House. Then I rescued Mr.Blacky and he enjoys being my Top Model. I loved making him a dog collar with a bow matching a dress for Brighette. And at last I have Melody (nick name Mel B.). She is my husband’s doggie. She was adopted from a shelter and she loves the cameras. This what’s inspired me to continue my Etsy shop The Doggie House.

In this photo I did a tutorial with a recycle dad’s jeans:
http://thedoggiehousepr.blogspot.com/2015/08/dog-dress-and-bandana-recycle-stain.html

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

The Doggie House shop on Etsy will definitely continue making pet accessories and helping shelters from Puerto Rico. My dream for The Doggie House is that I will make a full-time job. Right now it is a hobby but it always come back the idea in my mind that in the future will make that next step in the business world.

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

The Doggie House have being more a custom-made order and that is what I love making things specifically for my customers. I will love to include bandannas and bows more in the future.thedoggiehouse4

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

I do have a sewing room and this is my antique sewing machine it was from my grandmother. I sell the new one and keep the old one, works better for me.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

That being active on social networks and Etsy teams makes a difference. Now people are talking more how to run a small business back then it was a mystery. And also helping others inside Etsy teams I really love being part of it.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Yes!

I did an Etsy Guide in Spanish for the Latin and Puerto-Rican community I saw that my people need help understanding Etsy and I did made a Help Guide with a combination of Etsy tools and my experience on Etsy.

If you want to see my Etsy Guide in Spanish here is the link:
http://etsyteampr.blogspot.com/2016/06/herramientas-para-abrir-un-negocio-en.html

And I also did a How To Christmas in July in Spanish:
http://etsyteampr.blogspot.com/2016/06/christmas-in-july-how-to-event-puerto.htmlthedoggiehouse5

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

Sure!

I love to hop around my Island, Puerto Rico and eat in restaurant see the beaches. Travel with my dogs you can read my blog to see new adventures from Brighette Marie on Facebook too.

I also love reading blogs and seeing Instagram. I’m trying to understand Pinterest but I get great ideas from it.

What is your favorite quote?

Ask, Believe & Receive.

I believe in manifesting with a vision and heart the things that I love, the universe always remind me that we need to give to receive, so with my Etsy shop (The Doggie House)  I always help shelter animals and I receive the love from my clients.thedoggiehouse7

Where can people find out more about your business?

Etsy Shop, The Doggie House
https://www.etsy.com/shop/thedoggiehouse?ref=pr_shop_more

The Doggie House @ Blog
http://thedoggiehousepr.blogspot.com/

Brighette Marie@  Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/BrighetteMarie

Brighette Marie and The Doggie House @ Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/thedoggiehouse/

Puerto Rico Etsy Team (We are participating on the CIJ 2016)
https://www.etsy.com/teams/6626/puerto-rico-etsy-team/discuss/

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

I want to give thanks to Michelle & Christmas in July Team, I haven been a member for a long time and I always feel very welcome on this team.

Thank You for this wonderful opportunity here on your CIJ Team Blog!
Sincerely Sylvette Marie & The Doggie Housethedoggiehouse6

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: thedoggiehouse

Leave a Reply

