Kitchen Kitsch

Contributor post by Catherine from DesignsbyCnC

The word kitsch can be defined as art, objects, or design considered to be in poor taste because of excessive garishness or sentimentality, but sometimes appreciated in an ironic or knowing way.

The kitchen was always the heart of our home, where family all gathered around for good food and good times.  Kitchen items always seem to be particularly garish especially cookie jars, salt and pepper shakers, as well as canister sets.

Growing up in the 60’s we had a covered wagon cookie jar that was manufactured by MCCoy Pottery Company.  I always loved the bright colors and the uniqueness of this particular piece. My Mother, who was an avid baker, always kept it filled with freshly baked cookies.  I don’t recall what happened to our beloved cookie jar, but would love to have it in my kitchen today.

Another piece of our family kitchen kitsch that I loved was my Mother’s Porcelier Teapot by Hearth Vitreous China. This beautiful vintage teapot features a pastel colored country hearth on the side. It has a spinning wheel, a fireplace, and a rocking chair.  This piece has a place of honor in my kitchen today sitting on top of my vintage Hoosier cabinet.

I asked my teammates at Etsy Christmas In July to share their stories of kitchen kitsch memories along with a kitchen kitsch item to go along with it.

Sue from SuesAkornShop shared this memory:

Since I was a young girl around the holidays I would start baking for family and friends. I used my Grandma’s cut out recipe. Every year up until Grandma’s death, I made sure I made her cookies. The cut out were rolled thick and frosted heavily with butter cream frosting. Grandma passed away over 10 years ago, but I continue the tradition baking cookies for family and friends. I miss you Grandma! This towel reminds me of her.

il_570xn-667647229_r6ki

Christmas themed kitchen hand towel

 

Catherine Caramanica from BlkBttrflyDsgns recalled:

I can remember the family always having a slice of something yummy on nice plates with a cuppa tea or coffee. When I saw this set I couldn’t resist. I actually bought it many years ago and it’s been in my Hutch every since.  Hoping for it to go to a lovely family who loves to eat and dine as much as my big Italian family does.

il_570xn-1048089507_2tib

Snack Plates With Cups

 

Richard and Tatiana from DesignstheLimit shared this:

We specialize in creating personalized keepsakes which can be both appreciated and put to good use. Our newest listing is the perfect example of how much a personalized gift will give back. The set includes a reversible bread board which is engraved on one side and we offer the additional option of engraving a gift message on the bottom. The bread knife is included and stores conveniently in the center and the three ceramic dishes may be used for presenting your appetizers in the most appetizing manner.  Monogrammed table settings make the perfect conversation starter.

il_570xn-999446756_d3a1

Design’s Personalized Bruschetta Bread Board Set

Sue from MissIvyVintage remembered:

As a child in the 50’s, I remember visiting my grandmother upstairs on Saturday mornings when she did her baking. (In the 50’s she worked during the week right along side my Grandfather as a paper hanger.) Except for very heavy batters, she eschewed the electric hand mixer and always used a rotary hand egg beater for the lighter things like eggs and whipping cream. The smells in her kitchen were terrific! This item reminds me of her.

il_570xn-989166932_i0h4

Vintage 1920’s Hand Egg Beater

Shelly from ShellysSelectSalvage said:

My passion for cooking started with my mother. As a child we would play chef and I would help her cook. I learned knife skills and the basics. I love those memories with my mom and our time together and her teaching me how to cook.

Now as an adult I love using vintage utensils, like my old garlic masher and a potato masher. I cook with my husband we enjoy making classic southern food and creating new dishes.

il_570xn-1048189227_aen4

Vintage Foley  Food Mill Hand Crank

willowvalleyvintage from WillowValleyVintage told this story:

As a teen, I remember how proud I was when I memorized the recipe for Blonde Brownies with Chips! I loved sampling a spoonful of the butter and sugar before the rest of the ingredients went into the batter!

I enjoy the tulip details on this flour sifter and hearing that “gritty” noise when I squeeze the handle!

il_570xn-998145554_itpz

Vintage 1950’s Metal Flour Sifter

NANASSOAPS from NANASSOAPS states:

Remembering when we had fresh eggs for breakfast. Now my daughter carries on that tradition. Her children take turns going out to the chicken coop to get them.

2 Brown Egg Soaps

2 Brown Egg Soaps

 

One thought on “Kitchen Kitsch

Leave a Reply

