Musical Conclusion – #CIJParty 2016

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

“Guest Blog Article: “Musical Conclusion” by Michelle Emma Kay of EmmaKayInks

What is your Christmas Inspiration?

When I was a kid, I was obsessed with Christmas. The part I loved the most about it was singing Christmas carols. My mum played the piano and I sung the songs. We would practice for months in advance. Then on Christmas eve we would put on a performance for the family. I would often make and give out Christmas carol themed crafts at this time.

Musical Conclusion

I’d like to share three of my favourite Christmas songs:

‘Little drummer boy’ is one of the songs that my mum and I perfected together. She practiced it over and over to get the riff right. I practiced over and over to the par rum pa pum pum parts right.

I love that ‘Peace on earth’ is also included because this to me is one of the main messages of Christmas.

Here is the David Bowie and Bing Crosby version of the song.

Another favourite Christmas song of mine is ‘God rest ye merry gentlemen’. It’s also one that we performed for the family together.

One part of my Christmas obssession was learning the lyrics to every verse of every Christmas song. I can tell you that this one is a difficult one to remember with lots of verses.

I really like the melody of the song, the way that it dances along, up and then down again. I like that it references being saved and that gives me hope.

The last line of the chorus “tidings of comfort and joy” really does encapsulate Christmas doesn’t it?

The final song I would like to share is ‘All I want for Christmas is you’ by Mariah Carey.

Being a child of the 1990’s, I remember when it was released. I was a big fan of Mariah at the time and it is first and favourite Christmas pop song.

In particular, reminds me of the Christmas holidays after I finished high school (In Australia we have a long 5 week holiday over summer that includes Christmas). Each year when I hear it, it brings back on the excitement of Christmas.

It’s not just about whichever crush I have that year. It’s really expresses the celebration of that time of year for me.

I asked other Etsy sellers who are participating in Christmas In July what their favourite Christmas songs are and here are their answers.

Katrina from BygoneAllure says:

This got me thinking whether ‘Hallelujah’ (by Leonard Cohen) is a Christmas Song. And I concluded whilst I love it – it is less of a Christmas tune for me than ‘Amazing Grace’.

Bono singing it is mighty fine and he sings the heart of it in this short piece.

Mallori from MGPCreations says:

I would say my favourite Christmas song is ‘O Holy Night’. I love the lyrics and love singing it every Christmas. Just brings the meaning of Christmas out and is such a powerful song.

So many good versions out on YouTube but you can’t go past a good Celine Dion cover.

Melissa from 89stitches says:

I would have to say my favourite christmas song is ‘All I want for Christmas is you’. It is from one of the sweetest and funniest movies “Love Actually”!

CarolaBartz from CarolaBartz says:

My favorite song is The Christmas Song’ by Nat King Cole.

I love it because it is kind of old fashioned and has a beautiful atmosphere – I can picture the chestnuts roasting on an open fire, the anticipation and the very special non-commercial Christmas mood. Plus, Nat King Cole’s voice is just delicious!

Sue from SuesAkornShop says:

My favourite song is ‘Silent Night’ and I love this version.

Christmas is more than just gifts and this song is a reminder of all Christmas is.

Dawn from DeeDeeDeesigns says:

I think it has to be ‘Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer’!

I love this version of the song sung by Australian children’s band The Wiggles because they came to fame when my (now adult) children were young – yes I have been to several concerts.

I also love it because it is an empowering song for children in terms of its overcoming ‘bullies’ message. It always brings a smile to my lips.

Flora from Littlegiftsofnature says:

‘God Bless Us Everyone’ is my favourite Christmas song.

Lovely the beautiful melody and meaningful lyrics. Mr. Bocelli’s voice is amazing. ‘Christmas Carol’ is always my favourite novel.

Corkycrafts from Corkycrafts says:

My favorite Christmas song is ‘Mele Kalikimaka’ (Merry Christmas) by Bing Crosby.

It reminds me of being in Hawaii on Christmas day fond memories.

 

Alicia from AliciasFindings says:

My favorite Christmas song is ‘Feliz Navidad’.

I have loved this song since my middle school days (junior high). It is so upbeat and fun, which is what the season is to me.

Shelly from ShellysSelectSalvage says:

My favorite Christmas song is ‘I want a hippopotamus for Christmas’.

I like this song, but it’s actually my husband’s favorite, which I think is so cute since he is a big burly guy that adores this song. On our first Christmas I found (on Etsy) a vintage Christmas ornament that plays this song. We keep it on a shelf year round.

2 thoughts on “Musical Conclusion – #CIJParty 2016

  1. Sue from ZozannaCeramics says:

    “Rockin Around the Christmas Tree” by Brenda Lee would have to be our family’s favourite .
    The movie “Home Alone” has been my kids’ favourite Christmas movie for many many years .. it’s actually quiet violent I guess .. but the music is great, the kid is adorable and innocent, there’s lots of snow and over the top decorations, and the baddies lose 🙂

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ny-o4zr4LY0

    Like

  2. Stacey Dwyer from StaceysKnitWits says:

    I love Bandaids “Do they know it’s Christmas”. Such a great line up of talented musicians. Was always fun listening to it trying to pick the singer whilst listening to the sad words about the underprivileged. It helped raise awareness to those who for Christmas is just another day starving and without anything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

