Custom Orders – #CIJParty 2016

Contributor post by Sheila from BeadyEyedBird

Those of us who do custom orders can appreciate what a special gift a custom order can be — to the buyer or to the person the buyer is giving it to. It’s not just any old thing — something mass-produced that anybody could find or buy. Instead, it’s something that incorporates the unique spirit of the artist, perhaps even something that is designed with a particular person in mind.

We asked our friends at Christmas In July what kind of customized item/s they offer, and their experience has been with designing/producing for particular clients. Here’s what they said.

Alexandra Richards from EyeLoveKnots said:

One of the first orders for my shop was a custom order for some ceramic tile coasters in hot pink with bunnies on it. I did some digging for bunny clip art and found the cutest one! My client loved the idea, and ordered a set, and has since been back to put in several different custom orders.
It is so wonderful being able to work so closely with clients to make their visions come to life, and it’s even more wonderful when you hear from them about how they use their item, how they gifted it or what they like about it.
It takes lots of time and patience to put together custom orders, and sometimes you have to step outside your comfort area and get creative and resourceful, but in the end, I think it’s way worth it. Not only do you produce a new item for your client, but I also feel like the flood gates open up with similar ideas or different ways to approach the idea.
bunny 2

Hot pink bunny ceramic tile coasters

♥  ♥  ♥  ♥
Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns said:
 I definitely do custom orders! Making a range of table wares I can custom make sets of plates or cups or bowls, in custom sizes and custom colours.

I can also custom make jewellery. I have had many custom orders for specific ring sizes, which can be tricky given the shrinkage that occurs with clay, however, I have worked out all my shrinkage rates and regularly create successful orders.

I usually make a few rings, and the spares I list in my shop!

My most recent custom order was for a set of earrings. the customer was replacing a set of broken earrings and wanted a set as close as possible to the originals. I think they turned out wonderfully!

custom 1

Blue ceramic earrings -custom order

♥  ♥  ♥  ♥

Dana Hamant from LilybeanzBowtique said:

 A majority of my items are custom items. I originally stocked my shop with ready to ship items. Almost all of the orders I have received since opening in February of 2015 have been custom items. I love when I get a custom request. Some customers have a very specific idea in mind and want me to produce it exactly. I find these to be the most challenging, yet rewarding. I love seeing their vision come to life in my hands. Most of my customers have an idea of what they want and tell me to “have fun with it.”

The cover picture in this listing is my most recent custom order. This was for a local customer. She wanted a fabric wreath in her local school’s colors: Red, White, & Black. I had so much fun going to the craft store and matching up the fabrics to create this piece.

wreath

Made-to-Order Wreath, Holiday Decorations, Country Style Decor, Scrap Fabric Wreath, Rag Wreath for Door, Fabric Wall Wreath, Outdoor Wreath

♥  ♥  ♥  ♥

Valerie Brown from FirepanJewellery said:

I definitely do custom orders, ranging from enamel earrings (the client wanted each earring to be a different color), one of a kind silver pendants, gemstone jewellery, and of course engagement + wedding rings!

I just recently had the pleasure of making the wedding rings for my friends. I had made her engagement ring four years ago. We collaborated on the initial design which incorporated elements that were meaningful for the both of them. We used diamonds and sapphires from her Grandma’s Art Deco cocktail ring and I carved a lotus into the gold at the bottom of the ring as a very personal reminder of his Buddhist beliefs. When it came time to make their wedding rings, she just wanted a simple, plain band and he got the custom design ring. His wedding ring is a very wide band with a lotus cut out (this is meant to be on the bottom of the ring, to mirror hers). Aside from being able to incorporate very personal elements into their rings, they were able to choose different materials for their rings. Hers is 18K white gold, and his is 18K yellow gold (this was done to suit their skin tones better).

ring

Custom wedding ring set

♥  ♥  ♥  ♥
Wendy from wendysuniquecreation said:
I accept custom orders on everything I make except for upcycled glass pieces. Even with some of them I’d accept custom orders since some pieces may be customizable to an extent or if the customer wants a specific theme.

My most memorable custom order started when a Facebook game neighbor posted they had excess game resources I needed. From there we became game partners and then friends. We’d chat daily and one day I noticed her sending me lots of minion characters in Facebook chat. I proceeded to say she must love minions and she responded by saying she’s a minion nut. Well, I mentioned that I have a minion slipper pattern for ladies and when looking for that pattern, I found a minion hat pattern as well for sizes 0 – adult. She ended up buying a minion hat, minion slippers, and minion purse that I enjoyed making for her since I too love minions. My favorite part was where we would joke around and laugh, resulting in me making a blue tongue for both her slippers and hat instead of the usual pink tongue. Since then she has placed 2 more custom orders with me and she loves everything I make her.

I believe a happy customer brings repeat customers and word of mouth is the best free advertising.

♥  ♥  ♥  ♥

Many thanks to everyone who shared their stories with us!

Until Next Time,

Sheila

Leave a Reply

