Member Feature: Friedasophie

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Friedasophie of Friedasophie, our featured member!

Friedasophie

Friedasophie

Tell us about yourself.

My store name is Friedasophie and I am a Hamburg Native, living in San Francisco.

I am a San Francisco-based Jewelry goldsmith and designer.

I named my store after my 2 grandmothers who were fashion designers, writers, hat makers and jewelry collectors.

I grew up in a family where creativity was a part of life.

As a child, I started out as a painter, then switched to fashion design which inspired me to become a jewelry designer.FS13

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I took a metal smith class in 2008. First I made a pair of earring for myself and a local store fell in love with them and asked me to make a dozen which than sold out within a week. From there it went pretty fast, which led me to open my Etsy store. After about 6 month my hobby turned to a full-time business.FS2

Tell us a bit about your products

I handcraft all jewelry pieces in my own studio and only work with Sustainable Gems and Stones
using ethical and eco-friendly business practices.FS3

What inspires your work?

I am constantly drawing, collecting and photographing something that I find intriguing.

I also find inspiration by traveling or visiting local vintage shows.FS4

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

My business has been growing steadily over the past couple years and I am now starting
on getting a small team together to work with me at my studio, so I can free up some time for me,
to design new collections.FS5

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

Most of my pieces are one of a kind. My customers appreciate the uniqueness of my pieces, they
perfectly suit a person that is unique themselves.FS6

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

I have a home studio which is small and efficient. I am a minimalist and also like to take my tools with me during travel to take the studio on the road.FS7

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I have learned that it takes lots of patience and persistence to keep a business alive.FS8

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

My advice is to just go for it. If you have a great idea, then just try to create it. In the beginning it might not turn out as you hoped but with time and practice you will reach your potential. And just be yourself.FS9

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love to go for a walk on the beach and then come home to a cup of hot chocolate and a movie. And I love to dance.FS10

What is your favorite quote?

“To live a creative live, we must lose our fear of being wrong” by Joseph Chilton PearceFS12

Where can people find out more about your business?

You can find out more at my social media sites here:
http://www.friedasophie.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Friedasophie-Jewelry/270427900082
https://www.pinterest.com/ihearts/
http://friedasophiejewelry.tumblr.comFS11

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

I am grateful for being alive and being able to work with what I love.

I wish for you the same.

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

One thought on “Member Feature: Friedasophie

Leave a Reply

