Member Feature: MadeOnKailash

Contributor post by EyeLoveKnots of EyeLoveKnots

Please join us in welcoming Maria of MadeOnKailash, our featured member!

MadeOnKailash_02

Tell us about yourself.       

Hi, my name is Maria. I’m from Russia, I’m 31 years old. I’m a graphic designer and work in a magazine full-time. I like my work as it’s connected with creation in every instant! My job is to organize pictures and texts to create a harmonic layout and as a result a harmonic magazine to make readers interested in every article. Isn’t it fascinating?

When did you open your business and what made you decide to do so?

I have been trying different kinds of handicrafts since my childhood. I always liked to receive and to present handmade gifts as they kept a piece of the creator’s heart and soul and they are more expressive than mass trading goods. My granny as well as my mother encouraged me a lot – they are really great handmade crafters! They taught me to sew, crochet, knit, but later I decided to impress them with learning new ways of creating handmade items. I succeeded then, and now they are the main fans of my crafts projects! As I’ve been creating since my young age, I’ve collected a lot of pretty handmade goods at home. Every friend was already been gifted with something from me, so I was wondering what should I do with so many cute goods? One of my good friend advised me to try selling on Etsy, and everything spun so fast!

Tell us a bit about your products.           

Recently I’ve become very fond of making jewelry because there I can combine different craft skills and materials, such as, weaving and beading, working with metal and gemstone and so on. Now, you’ll find different types of jewelry and accessories in my shop. I’m always crazy about details making sure every item is as good as it’s possible. I never sell an item if I don’t like it by myself and if I’m not satisfied with its quality!

MadeOnKailash_03

What inspires your work?           

In my free time, I practice hatha yoga (besides crafting). I’ve been practicing already for 4 years and yoga influences me even in my creation process. I love yoga so much, it brings me tranquility and helps my mind to catch new ideas. Also, yoga brought me great love for India. I’ve been there three times as backpacker and hope to go back there again for a long time. For me, India is an incredible country with its music culture, religious traditions, joyful people and of course masters of yoga!

MadeOnKailash_04

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?         

As I’m so fond of India, my secret dream (or crazy idea) is to earn enough money for a new trip only by selling my crafts! I know it’ll take a lot of time, but it would be great to succeed! But to be serious, I really enjoy getting feedback from my customers! I want to share the joy of creating with whole the world!

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

All of my items are one of a kind products of my imagination. Every piece is full of good vibes and positive energy, which I send in every parcel with my items to my buyers!

MadeOnKailash_05

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?

My flat is my workspace. It becomes a little bit messy from time to time as sometimes I work behind my computer watching z movie or listening to lectures about everything on TED, than I move to another room to paint my packaging boxes! Later, I have to gather everything around in my special storage boxes, otherwise my pretty cat will take everything she likes! Sometimes she manages to steal a bead or a rope!

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

As for me I think selling is not easy, especially in Russia where it’s difficult to take part in local markets and fairs because of high participant fees – that’s why I decided to sell online. I can say that in the very beginning I was more optimistic about selling my goods, but later realized that it took a lot of time and the only thing I needed was patience.

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Everyone who decides to sell online really needs a lot of patience because it will probably be longer than expected before you get your first sale, than another one and so on. You shouldn’t expect big profit, but when someone finds you among other amazing artists and likes your creation so much that decide to buy it, it’s the most wonderful thing about selling your handmade! It’s worth the wait to get this experience! Every sale for me is a little celebration!

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

Aside from yoga, in my free time I help in an orphan house for children with mental disorders in Moscow. It’s not an ordinary orphan house, where walls are grey and nurses don’t smile. It’s really the Home for little ones whose lives are not easy. Recently, I decided to donate 20% of each purchase from my shop to help this little home for special children to evolve. Also I’m always happy to watch good movies in cinema or attend some interesting exhibitions.

MadeOnKailash_06

What is your favorite quote?

“You can never be overdressed or over-educated.” – Oscar Wilde

Where can people find out more about your business?  

You can find me on different social media:

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/mmalakhova/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mahafromkailash/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MahaFromKailash

Sometimes you can find special offers from MadeOnKailash on my social media, so make sure you follow me!

  Is there anything else you’d like to share?         

As I’ve already mentioned, it was my mother who instilled the love of handmade to me, so here is her little shop on etsy: Pellmellshop.etsy.com. All are welcome to stop and take a look around. My granny’s items are coming soon there also!

MadeOnKailash_07

________
If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

