Tutorial: No Scrap of Wood Left Behind – #EtsyCIJ #EtsyCraftParty 2016

Contributor post by Catherine from DesignsbyCnC

“Tutorial:  How to make a Valentine’s Day Primitive Hanger” by Barb from barbsheartstrokes

icm_fullxfull.93697317_3lzwc06ngyasswsgkkgs

 

“What Color(s) Inspired This Tutorial? Please Share Your Advice For Creating Stunning Color Combinations.”

“When it is January and grey and 7 degrees outside I start looking for some color in my world! Good thing Valentine’s Day is around the corner. RED is one of my favorite colors and makes me smile!

I started with RED, then thought this color would look good on pink. Since this little hanger has a primitive look I wanted the color to POP out and give a hint of fun.

I have added brighter colors to some of my primitive pieces and I am loving the look! Never be afraid to add/mix and play with colors!”

Introduction

Having been raised by parents who were raised during the end of the Great Depression and then WWII I was taught nothing should go to waste. So no scrap of wood can be left behind after my Dad drops off a truck load of scrap lumber. I have all these different sizes and thickness of wood so I tried to put my frozen brain to work and come up with an idea for these 2 x 3 inch pieces of wood. Here it goes. Sand the wood out in the garage with the temp at 7 degrees at noon one day. (I did not last long out there.) Tack cloth the wood free from frost and saw dust. Paint the wood with Burnt Umber acrylic paint. Let dry.

icm_fullxfull.93697185_44j56iaxv6ecgc8s8go4

 

Tutorial Directions

icm_fullxfull.89653136_jj325c96hx4wso08kss0

Paint roughly with Decoart Melon color or a pinkish color of your choice leaving the edges paint free giving it a primitive look. You could also paint the wood first and then sand the edges and stain with an oil base stain but that meant going back out to the garage. I did the simpler version avoiding the outside.

icm_fullxfull.93697201_n8kss3jh268wgcg0s8og

Now with Decoart Country Red stencil some hearts here and there on the wood.

icm_fullxfull.93697313_5d0knhigf0w84sg8k048

I just wrote on the wood with a #2 pencil “Be Mine” and a heart to dot the letter I. Now you can paint this black with a 10/0 liner brush or use a Sharpie Marker to do the lettering.

icm_fullxfull.93697317_3lzwc06ngyasswsgkkgs

Inside the house, using the Dremel, I drilled two holes at the top and then added rusty wire for a hanger. I have all these fun keys so I used white organza ribbon to attach the key to the wire on this one.

icm_fullxfull.93697323_8qiir1v9p9oo4w0cc8so

Here is one with red organza ribbon with a different key attached. I sprayed these with a clear coat finish and are now ready to give as a small gift. I may even add these to my Etsy shop.

Conclusion

Not sure how creative these are when you are freezing but I needed to paint and start using my brain for some creativity. Hope you enjoy!

Share Your Social Media Sites

You may follow me on Pinterest:  https://www.pinterest.com/bsheartstrokes/, Twitter:  https://twitter.com/BsHeartstrokes and visit my blog:  http://barbsheartstrokes.blogspot.com/

One thought on “Tutorial: No Scrap of Wood Left Behind – #EtsyCIJ #EtsyCraftParty 2016

Leave a Reply

