Member Feature: LilybeanzBowtique

Contributor post by Michelle of EviesToolEmporium

Please join us in welcoming Dana of LilybeanzBowtique, our featured member!

LilybeanzBowtique

LilybeanzBowtique

Tell us about yourself.

I am a stay-at-home mom to three beautiful daughters. I received my degree in Art History and have always loved to create, but never had time in my busy schedule. Being able to stay home has afforded me the opportunity to create new and unique pieces almost every day. I couldn’t imagine a more fulfilling outlet.

When did you open your business and what make you decide to do so?

I opened my business in February of 2015. I had acquired some supplies to make my daughter a tutu and some headbands for a Christmas present. Not only did I love-making them, but my daughter fell in love and instantly wanted more. I looked at it as a hobby, but the more I made, the more I fell in love with creating new items. My daughter can only wear so many tutus and headbands at a time, so I decided to open my shop to satisfy my creative bug.

LilybeanzBowtique

LilybeanzBowtique

Tell us a bit about your products

I love using tulle, fabrics, and flowers. I create new items to incorporate these products into almost every design. I like to make items that can be used for functional purposes, but also love creating pieces for memorable occasions and photo shoots.

What inspires your work?

I get inspired by life. Listening to my children talk about things they love in life, walking down the aisles at local craft stores, or even perusing the internet. I’ll see a fabric or a color and will imagine all the different possibilities.

What are your future goals for the business this year? What is your dream for this business?

This year I would like to continue to grow as I increase my social media presence. I want to create items from all of the ideas running around in my head and come up with new inspirations. My dream is to be able to continue to grow so that I can contribute to my family’s income.LilybeanzBowtique1

What makes your business stand out from businesses that sell similar products?

My items are one-of-a-kind that you can’t find anywhere else. I find inspirations everywhere and use those ideas to create something that you can’t find anywhere else. Each item is made with love.

Tell us a bit about your work space. Do you have a separate studio?Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

I have an office set up in my den. Even though it is part of a functional room, it is separate and a little oasis for me. I have a desk at which to create and two bookshelves to store my supplies. I love having the small space so that I can see my materials while I am working. Some of my greatest inspirations have come from turning in my chair to reach a supply and seeing a color or fabric that sparks an idea. My previous office space was in our garage. Everything was so spread out and my husband and I shared a work space. I felt stuck in a creative rut. Now, the possibilities seem endless.

What have you learned since opening your business that you wish you had known before hand?

I wish I had known how hard it was to grow your business from nothing. But I also wish I would have known how rewarding it was so that I could have started much earlier!LilybeanzBowtique3

Any advice for those thinking about selling on Etsy?

Find your own path. Don’t copy other shops. Create what speaks to you. Great customer service and a social media presence will help you to stand out from the other shops.

When you’re not working, what do you like to do to unwind and have fun? Do you have any hobbies?

I love to spend time with my family. Hiking, shopping, playing board games. We love to cook and spend time outside together. I love jigsaw puzzles and other games that make me think and challenge me.

What is your favorite quote?

“I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.” -MichelangeloLilybeanzBowtique4

Where can people find out more about your business?

My Facebook page would be the best place to find out more about my business. I post daily updates about my creative process and new works. I also post about local shows and festivals where they can come out and see my products in person.

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

I absolutely love doing custom work. I am most at peace when a customer entrusts their vision to me.

________

If you would like to be featured, please go to the CIJ Etsy Forum and fill out the questionnaire. Please note you must be a member of the CIJ Etsy team to be featured.

Leave a Reply

