Heralding the Arrival of Spring with Beautiful Bursts of Color

Contributor post by Catherine from DesignsbyCnC

During the dark days of winter, I look forward eagerly to the first burst of spring color.  Nothing signals the arrival of spring like seeing the colorful crocus peeking up through the snow.

There are many different varieties of spring flowers with daffodil, crocus, tulip and hyacinth being some of the most common ones.  To enjoy colorful year-round blooms in your garden, select plants with different blooming times such as the daffodil, the earliest narcissi appear in early spring, especially small cultivars like Tete-a-Tete.  For mid –spring color, the tulip which is just starting their long period of bloom is an all-time favorite. My personal favorite is the peony.  These colorful shrubs carry the garden from late spring to early summer.

Featured are the favorite spring flowers from members of the Etsy Christmas In July team along with an item from their shop that celebrates the colorful blooms of spring.

You might just discover a new variety of spring flower to try out in your own garden!

Nancy Duncan  from  EponasCrystals shared this:

My favorite spring flower is lilac. We have several in our yard and the scent is amazing! It was also my mother’s favorite and it reminds me of her.

These earrings are the lilac color I prefer:

Bell Flower Earrings

Dana Hamant  from  LilybeanzBowtique had this response:

My favorite flower of Spring is a Lily. It is my birth month flower (Lily of the Valley) and the name of my middle daughter and namesake of my shop.

This item comes with handmade felt flowers that remind me of all the beauty of Spring.

Yarn Wrapped Felt Floral Wreath

Tetiana  from DiMaryboutique said:

Dandelion – is spring flower, especially in Kiev this year…. blossoming dandelions and my little daughter inspired me to hand make my ECO dresses with crochet flowers!

Dandelion ECO-dress

Valerie Brown  from FirepanJewellery added:

My garden is full of Spring flowers, and I am very inspired by them! One of my favorites is the Forget-me-not. They “came with the yard” and love my garden so much they spring up everywhere. I know Spring is really here when I see these little blue blossoms all over. Another reason I like Forget-me-not is that there are very few true blue flowers, but they are one of them!

Forget Me Not Sterling Silver Flower Necklace

Corkycrafts  from Corkycrafts remarked:

We plant sunflowers in a wide array of colors all year, the most popular are the yellow ones for the kids love to imagine they are in the land of Jack & the giant bean stalk when the yellow heads pop out in colors. I share my love of gardening with my customers and now sell the seeds during planting season to share a smile.

 

Texas Size Sunflower Seeds

Sue and Misty  from shabbyshopgirls answered:

What could be more refreshing in the cold of winter than an arrangement of tiger lilies, snap dragons and iris in wonderful muted pastel colors of purple, pink, blue, green and white? These flowers are so beautiful they will take the damp and dark out of any Winter day and signal Spring to pop its cheery head!

 

ESCADA Silk Floral Scarf

Annie  from DesignedbyAnneliese commented:

I absolutely love Freesias in Spring! They smell so lovely and fragrant. My parents have them in their front yard and I love to pick some and take them home. They also remind me of warmer weather.  I have made some floral envelopes which remind me of Spring!

Floral Envelope Set

Solveiga  from Solviashop added:

My favorite flower of Spring is a Rose. Also I have my favorite song:  “Roses” is a song from American DJ duo The Chainsmokers. It was released as the second single from their debut EP, Bouquet on June 16, 2015. The song was written by and features vocals from American singer Elizabeth Roze Mencel, better known by her moniker Rozes.

Here is a crochet flower key ring made with a yellow wool yarn:

Yellow Flower Keychain

Marjorie Scenna  from mscenna related:

I love spring flowers and look forward to seeing things pop up in my yard. I’m inspired by flowers and love finding ways to incorporate them into crafts. This vintage earring and button pendant reminds me of white peonies.

Pearl Gold Necklace

Rachel Placek  from LoveandPetFurCrochet told me this:

My favorite spring flowers are the Hydrangea. I love the different shades of blue and purple found in these blooms. They also keep well in a vase inside which makes them even more valuable. Here is a crochet coffee mug cozy I made depicting the beauty of their bloom:

Hydrangea Flower Coffee Cup Cozy

Lia Russo  from Ghirlandiamo offered:

So many flowers evoke spring, but for me the most representative ones are daffodils.   It’s so nice to see them sprouting out from the soil not yet covered by green grass.  The most common are like these I used in my wreath: white petals and yellow heart and all completely yellow.  Sincerely I don’t know if other varieties exist, but these two ones are really fresh and lovely and they can perfectly be identified with spring.

Daffodil Heart Wreath

Dawn Whitehand from DeeDeeDeesigns says:

Goodness, my favourite spring flower – that is a tough one!

Here in Australia I love our native flora – so enjoy the multitude of gum blossoms that dominate my natural garden …. I don’t have any items inspired by this (something I will have to look into), so will share a daisy pendant instead – another popular spring flower.

 

il_570xn-990497849_gry3

Ceramic Daisy Boho Pendant Necklace

Lelia Valois from ValoisFelts commented:

I love it when dandelions, buttercups, clovers and daisies start popping up all over the grass.  Then there’s nothing better than laying out on a blanket with a dog, some cool drinks and a book.

il_570xn-917049512_qylt

Daisy Needle Felted Bookmark

Alexandra Richards from EyeLoveKnots added this:

I designed these gloves for the Happily Hooked Magazine for a Lace and Openwork theme. I have since worked many different colorways, but the initial piece was in this Rosy Cheeks colorway and the first thing I thought of as I worked through the design was Cherry Blossoms.

The magazine took a small poll on my gloves and found that people were between flowers and stars in the design. What do you see?

il_570xn-1026922765_2tli

 

Ginny C from GRCTreasures said:

Roses are one of my favorite Spring flowers and these pretty yellow roses just drew me right to the tablecloth. I love vintage linens and I saw this one in a church thrift shop and just had to have it. I would love to keep it for myself but I can’t keep everything I buy and I am happy to pass it on to someone who can appreciate its beauty.

Vintage Wilendur Yellow Roses Tablecloth and napkins

Vintage Wilendur Yellow Roses Tablecloth and napkins

 

2 thoughts on “Heralding the Arrival of Spring with Beautiful Bursts of Color

  1. Lots of beautiful floral inspired creations here! Love the variety. Thank you for including my Lacy Fingerless Gloves!

    Like

Leave a Reply

