Clean Up Your Room Day

Contributor post by Sheila from BeadyEyedBird

May 10 is Clean Up Your Room Day! Have you been avoiding your spring-cleaning this year? This is the day to get motivated! Especially when it comes to cleaning up your work space, it will be well worth the effort!

The tradition of spring-cleaning dates back to the days when people relied on fire to light and heat their homes through the winter. After months of being shut up with no fresh air, everything in the house would be covered in soot and ash. Spring-cleaning traditionally took place on the first warm day of the season. The entire family would roll up their sleeves and move all the furniture and linens outdoors. They would then clean the house from top to bottom, scrubbing down the walls, beating the dirt out of the carpets, and dusting everything in sight.

Alicia from AliciasFindings says:

I spring clean my house as well as my “beading space”. Even if you inventory your items there always seem to be things that you forgot you had bought. I go thru my items and any “bits and pieces” I make sure and use up or make into a mystery grab bag. Waste not, want not.

I reward myself by having a nice cup of coffee and maybe even a snack for a job well done!

alicia

Green crystal slide lock bracelet,crystal bracelet,side lock bracelet $20.00

Stock Lane Studio from StockLaneStudio says:

Spring cleaning is an on-going process for us, especially with 2 teenagers in the house. I have one super organized child who has everything in her room lined up and categorized, and another child who is more of a free spirit when it comes to order and keeping her room clean.

We have regular discussions about the value of freeing her room of dust, and in order to do that she has to take care of all the clutter.

We also talk about how much money can be saved with a clutter-free or at least organized room: when she tells me she has no clothes or school supplies, I first tell her to clean up her room and she often finds what she needs while sifting through her piles!

disaster

Teen Room Decor, Warning Disaster Zone Print, 8×10 red black Halloween wall art sign for him teen boy wall art funny poster messy room sign $10.00

Dawn from DeeDeeDeesigns says:

Spring cleaning (or any cleaning) is not something I look forward to. I live on a dirt road in a semi rural area… so during spring/summer all I get is dust and in Autumn/Winter all I get is mud

But I still do like a clean fresh feeling space.

So I concentrate on cupboards and drawers were my tableware lives! Of course I also give the studio a bit of a wipe over too.

Ceramic stoneware nesting bowls $33.96

Ceramic stoneware nesting bowls $33.96

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Cleaning!

Until Next Time,

Sheila

Leave a Reply

